"Organize produced files into sub-folders" check box

  • 4
  • Idea
  • Updated 4 months ago
  • (Edited)
Currently using Camtasia 9, and the "Organize produced files into sub-folders" preset check mark in the Production Wizard is very frustrating.

I produce videos on Camtasia at a rate of about 4 or 5 per week (no joke), and I have un-checked this box at production literally hundreds of times. Can we please have the option to make our choice default? I use my own very-exhaustively organized folder structure.

I've seen other previous posts about this same thing, but they were made years ago and have all been closed for comments. I think maybe the staff (at least the staff at that time) wishes we would always want to produce with a smart player. I understand the need for sub-folders when the smart player is used, but not with MP4s. It's literally a folder with a single file inside. (Frustrating to those with need for iterative work). 

As an alternate solution: could the Production Wizard be updated to know the difference between regular MP4 Only files and those with the Smart Player? Maybe any time the user chooses "with Smart Player", have the default go back to checked.
Photo of Daniel

Daniel

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 4
Photo of ofer

ofer

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
Hello Daniel,
When you produce the video, on the very first dialog box, you get the option to choose the type of production. 
Make a custom production just once (as opposed to the built in options such as "MP4 only (up to 1080p), in which you un-check the "Organize produced...".
Since that point - all further productions will have this option un-checked by default.
Today is the first day of the rest of your life :-)
Photo of Kyle Ortman

Kyle Ortman

  • 60 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Oh my Gawd! 
You made my life so much easier! 
(thank you thank you thank you)
Photo of jeffjm

jeffjm

  • 12 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Hmm. I already have the preset that I brought across from 9 to 2018. Do I have to re-create the preset to have the default be unchecked? Can I edit an XML file instead?
Photo of Ned Bellavance

Ned Bellavance

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
This option appears to be gone with Camtasia 2018.  Was it moved or changed?
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4914 Posts
  • 2241 Reply Likes
Hi there

This thread mentions at least two options. Which one are you referring to?

If you are referring to the option mentioned in the thread title, how are you producing your output? For example, when you click Share > Local File


You end up with the Production Wizard dialog:



And what you see after clicking the Next > button on that dialog depends on the choice you make when you click that drop-down at the top.

If you perhaps choose to send to Screencast, you are not offered the option of organizing the files because that option becomes moot.

So give us more info and possibly screen captures to demonstrate and someone here can likely provide a better answer.

Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of Ned Bellavance

Ned Bellavance

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Hi Rick!  
Thanks for the info.  I see the options when I am creating a new Production in the wizard, but not when I am creating a new preset.  I would like to be able to specify it in the preset, or have somewhere to set this for each project as a default.  



If that setting lives with the project and not the preset, then it would be nice to have an option in Preferences that makes it the default for new projects.

Does that make sense?



Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4914 Posts
  • 2241 Reply Likes
Hello again

I do agree that this would be a nice option to have. Apparently it simply isn't possible at the moment. I know in the past I've seen others complain that whatever the folder location you use doesn't seem to "stick". 

Until such a time as TechSmith may add this as a preset, you can probably find some relief by using a Windows feature. I have a folder where I only created and store shortcuts to other paces. So you might create a folder for this. Then you can configure that folder as a favorite that would be listed in the Quick Access area of the Windows dialogs you see when saving. Or, alternatively you can list just the locations themselves in the Quick Access area,



Cheers... Rick :)