"Repeat last capture" forgets region selection + "Preview in Editor" disabled selection, whenever Snagit process is restarted

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • (Edited)
I use Snagit to capture a specific region of my screen, which I trigger using the "Repeat last capture" keyboard shortcut. The target is saving the capture to a folder on my disc. Not saving it to the clipboard, and definitely not previewing it in the Editor.

In general, this works perfectly!

Unfortunately, it seems that the "last capture" preference is not persistent between Snagit restarts. Each time my computer reboots, or I simply log out and then back in again (restarting the Snagit process), the application forgets two details, which could have easily have been written to disk to allow them to be persistent:

1) the last selected region. Instead of taking a screenshot of the same region of the screen as last time, the cross hairs appear and I need to carefully select the region again. So it is not truly using the parameters from my last capture in this situation. It would be nice if this was persistent between Snagit restarts.

2) More annoyingly, Snagit always defaults to "Preview in Editor" enabled! This happens even if it is disabled in the GUI, and even if the last capture (before Snagit was restarted) also had this option disabled!

Sure, in a given session, these preferences are remembered, but it would be even better if the user could restart their computer without some of these preferences arbitrarily being forgotten by Snagit.



Even if I enable "Preview in Editor" and then disable it again, Snagit seems to be determined to send screenshots from the "Repeat last capture" shortcut into Snagit Editor, until I first click the red button, and take a capture that way, to remind it what my "last capture" was, as it apparently has no idea what option was used the last time I was logged in!

It would be much better if "Repeat last capture" could actually remember if you had "Preview in Editor" disabled when you made your last actual capture, before Snagit was restarted.

From a user's perspective, we don't care if Snagit was restarted, so why should Snagit care? "Last capture" means "Last capture", not "Last capture during this Windows session"!

The current behavior, where this "Preview in Editor" preference is ALWAYS forgotten between Snagit restarts, is quirky and forces the user to first take a regular capture, using the red Capture button, to "teach" Snagit their preference again, before the "Repeat last capture" keyboard shortcut will actually use the same settings as the last capture.

It would be amazing if we could set it up once (i.e. capture region + disable Preview in Editor), take one regular capture... and then be able to exclusively use the "Repeat last capture" keyboard shortcut unless we need to change the capture parameters, without having to re-teach it our preferences by taking a regular capture first, each time we log in to our computer again!

Whatever parameters Snagit is able to hold in memory from the last capture while it is running may as well be written to disk, so that they are available to use the next time it restarts, thus creating a more seamless experience for users who rely heavily on the "Repeat last capture" shortcut.

Can this be addressed in a future update?
Photo of Daniel Hall

Daniel Hall

  • 38 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 2
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1422 Posts
  • 990 Reply Likes
I think that forgetting the last capture are upon closing the program may be working as designed although they might consider saving the value somewhere
The business of always opening in the editor is a mess but I do have a couple of profiles that do successfully bypass the editor and I cannot honestly say why they work and others do no

I basically resize a capture for pasting in an email. Perhaps it has to do with putting it on the clipboard. If that is it then there may be a bug

Photo of Daniel Hall

Daniel Hall

  • 38 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
I think it's working as expected, not as designed.

It's more that they haven't got around to fixing this yet, than they actually want it to work this way.

My workflow never involves opening Snagit Editor automatically after taking a screenshot, so for it to do this the first time I use the keyboard shortcut, every new Windows session, feels like a definite bug.

I can work around it by using the Capture button once per Windows session, to re-teach Snagit, but it would be better if Snagit was smart enough to remember the previous day's "last capture" properties, so I didn't have to add an extra step in my workflow to work around this idiosyncratic behavior.

(Edited)
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1422 Posts
  • 990 Reply Likes
You can make a preset and change the region from "Select at Capture" to "Fixed region" then select the region you always want to grab Choose what to do with it)File, clipboard etc) and assign a hot key
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 6646 Posts
  • 3206 Reply Likes
Presets rock!
Photo of Daniel Hall

Daniel Hall

  • 38 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Good point!

I should probably start leveraging presets a bit more!