Accident. I didn't want to upload my screen cast video for public view

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
i uploaded a screen cast video by accident. I didn't want to upload it and set it for public viewing.

I did get the link, clicked on it and then saw the video

I wanted to delete but when I went into my account, there's no video upload..

I'm confused about how your system work. the URL said
screencast.com/ something... but when I logged into the account it's not there.

Help? how do I pull this out?

Thanks.
Photo of DavTake

DavTake

  • 0 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • anxious and frustrated

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of p.stanos

p.stanos, Employee

  • 46 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
DavTake,

I'm assuming you uploaded the video using one of the desktop clients such as Camtasia or Snagit? If so, the account you are logged in to on the website might be different than the one you are logged in to in the desktop client.

A quick way to check whether the media is owned by the currently logged in account would be to visit the link you got and see if the breadcrumbs show "All My Items" in the top left, like this:



Otherwise, if it's on an account that's different than the one you are logged into it will show the user's name, like this:



If the breadcrumbs are disabled for that piece of media you won't be able to follow this method, and so the best way to check what account you should be logged into would be checking the settings in whatever client you are uploading from.

Depending on what folder you uploaded to, the media may already be "Hidden". This means that no one will be able to view the media without a direct link provided to them. If you'd like to read more about how privacy settings work, you can read about them here.

I hope this helps!


- Paul S.