Autosave not autosaving camtasia 9

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 month ago
I have this set to autosave every 2 minutes. How is it that I just lost 20 minutes of video editing work?
Photo of ecrane

ecrane

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • FRUSTRATED

Posted 11 months ago

  • 1
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6442 Posts
  • 1933 Reply Likes
are you manually commanding a save?  if so, in CS9, that will re-start the auto-save clock; it will also delete the last auto-saved copy in the auto-save folder
Photo of ecrane

ecrane

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Yes, but that did not save either...it took me back to a previous restore point. I've submitted a ticket with support.

Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6442 Posts
  • 1933 Reply Likes
OK; so doing a manual project save [ctl-S] does not work?

I've seen that on a few occasions myself

please let us know if tech support finds a cause/solution
Photo of Cheryl Elliott

Cheryl Elliott

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Has there been a fix to this? I've never had an auto save that isn't saving a backup simultaneously until I decide to delete them. I just lost about a half hour of work too when I shut down and restarted. I was shocked to see an empty safety net folder, nothing in auto save. I was expecting a nice long list of all my projects so now I have to backup manually while I'm working? 
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6442 Posts
  • 1933 Reply Likes
what Camtasia version are you using?

what is your auto save period [see edit/preferences menu, program tab]?

auto saved project files are deleted automatically when you do a manual save or exit

when working, a best practice is to manually save [ctl-S] after every important edit

if you want a sequence of saved project files, do save-as and put a sequence # in the file name


Photo of Cheryl Elliott

Cheryl Elliott

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you for the reply! Yeah I'm in 9 and I see there are limited options in preferences. I'm used to Adobe, having auto-saved backups for as long as I want them. Just on-going saves. And on top of that I save projects periodically throughout the day with a new version number AND ctrl-S every 5 minutes at least. I go to great lengths to avoid redoing work like this morning but then, I'm really not used to Camtasia. 

One thing that still doesn't make sense is why I never see the project getting auto saved in there, even when I don't manually save within the 2 minutes, the default. I will have to  get into the habit of backing up my projects manually every few minutes. Hopefully this will all change in the next version. Thanks again.
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 6076 Posts
  • 3227 Reply Likes
The autosave only works if the computer shuts down suddenly. It's not a true autosave the way Adobe functions. SO NEVER shut down a project without saving your work.
Regards,Joe
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6442 Posts
  • 1933 Reply Likes
autosave makes a backup of the project file based on 2 events:  has the project changed [been edited], and has the specified time period passed since the last manual save

if you do a manual save, then do not edit the open project, even after the autosave time period passes, no autosave is created [no reason to]

if you open the autosave folder and do a little testing, you'll see this behavior

also, every time you exit a project that has been edited and not manually saved, you'll receive the "want to save" dialog

watch the mouse cursor very carefully; it will show an autosave action if it's time to occur; the mouse cursor will show the "circle = activity"; if your project file is small, this can happen so fast you'll likely not notice; but with large, complex project files, it's obvious because writing the backup takes a while

my personal best practice: manual save after every important edit [just a quick ctl-s]
Photo of ecrane

ecrane

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks, good advice. In my case (I'm the original poster) it was a bug related to ripple delete, as I described below. Even with autosave, manual saving, and the "revert back" option, I was losing work.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6442 Posts
  • 1933 Reply Likes
appreciate the clarification

still using Camtasia 9?; what specific version?

was the bug fixed [if using latest version released 9.1.4.]?

I'm using 2018.0.7; no issue with autosaves not working as expected
Photo of ecrane

ecrane

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I worked with Camtasia support and this was the gist of it:
ME: "It seems to start going bad when I do a ripple delete. So I click Revert project back... and immediately save, and keep saving, but sometimes it will revert back to a point before the most recent save."

SUPPORT:"Are you also trying to add an animation where those ripple deletes may be? [Yes, I was]..If so, I would recommend the following: If you are wanting to add an animation where there is a ripple delete (a stitch), right click on that stitch and choose Unstich. I would do this for any stitches around the area of where the animation is going to take place. Once those stitches have been unstitched, add the animation and then try to Save. 

This is something we are aware of and will be corrected down the road."

This did seem to work well.