Backup for editor effects, toolbar, editor preferences. And all presets from the capture windows.

  • 6
  • Idea
  • Updated 12 months ago
Backup for editor effects, toolbar, editor preferences. And all presets from the capture windows. So we can migrate from one computer to another without having to redo all these things. 
Thanks
Photo of albator159

albator159

  • 17 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 6
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1249 Posts
  • 855 Reply Likes
+1
That might be easy to implement. They might add the datastore to that too and on restore, populate the contents back  into the library. That is  a mess to backup and restore as it is. I keep mine on another drive and that adds complexity.
Photo of CyrusMD

CyrusMD

  • 79 Posts
  • 87 Reply Likes

Good catch "americaada128"

Robert (Techsmith), check to see if it can be added to the list.

That will be great to export (backup) all the user settings to a file that the user can save to their choice of destination and then import (restore) when performing a re-install or a new installation.

A lot of software has this feature. This feature will only work as long as Techsmith keeps the capability (format)  to save and restore the same throughout all the versions and not change it with a new version. That will destroys the functionality of this process.

I have been manually saving the files I do not think that is a big programming change. Two choices can be added to the menu under "File" of the main SnagIt program and not under the SnagIt editor.

Sample:

Thank y'ALL for the good ideas that keep on coming. That is exactly what is needed to "Make SnagIt Great Again".

(Edited)
Photo of JL1

JL1

  • 201 Posts
  • 91 Reply Likes
That falls under "Why didn't I think of that?"
Great idea. Let's hope it can be implemented.
Photo of Barry

Barry

  • 13 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
This would be great for our office.  The enterprise version was a disaster, only updated 1 or 2 terminals while others had old versions.  Mine was constantly being restored to default settings.
This idea would make helping other users so much easier as we could all have the same settings.