Camtasia 9 - Recorder closes after capture?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
Hey everyone! Just wondered if there was a way to change this behaviour. In Camtasia 8 I can keep the screen recorder active, and capture/stop/capture/stop/etc. and have my clips added to the timeline automatically.

In Camtasia 9, I can record one capture, press F10, have it added to the timeline, and then the recorder is gone. I have to click "Record" again, and subsequent captures go straight to the media library, and not that timeline as before.

I really liked the old functionality in this regard. Anyone else feeling this?
Photo of Paul Ortiz

Paul Ortiz

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Lon Naylor

Lon Naylor

  • 84 Posts
  • 52 Reply Likes
I had the same question. What you are experiencing are the defaults of the CS 9 Recorder.

You can change the Save behavior in the Recorder under Tools...Options...Programs Tab:
Workflow: "Do this with my recording" drop-down: change to Save
Photo of Paul Ortiz

Paul Ortiz

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Hmmm, interesting. Still not quite right though. If I set it to "Save", then yes I can record/stop/repeat and keep the recorder open. But the files are not added to the open project.

If I set it to "Add to Media Bin" then the files get imported into the project, but the recorder auto closes.

I mean it's not a huge thing! I could just set it to "Save" and then when I'm done, import Media and navigate to wherever I saved them. I guess it's just gonna take time to get used to the new workflow.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6234 Posts
  • 1826 Reply Likes
in CS9, the Recorder closes after every capture; I agree that this is not desired behavior

my fix is to pin the Recorder to the Task Bar; that way, I only have to click in its icon, and not bother to use the Editor's UI control

unfortunately, launching Recorder for each and every separate capture burns up unnecessary time

suggest you create a suggestion "idea" to have the CS8 behavior returned?
Photo of Lon Naylor

Lon Naylor

  • 84 Posts
  • 52 Reply Likes
Yes, I should have been more complete in my post. I simply meant that the Save behavior could be changed...sorry.
Photo of Paul Ortiz

Paul Ortiz

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
All good man! It's still *a* solution, but I would like to see the old behaviour brought back :)
Photo of Dave O'Rourke

Dave O'Rourke, Senior Software Engineer

  • 1417 Posts
  • 373 Reply Likes
If you uncheck Hide preview window after recording is stopped shown in Lon's screenshot above, and adjust the File options to prompt for a file name, you can get back to the way v8 worked.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6230 Posts
  • 1825 Reply Likes
Dave, just tried your suggestion

I got the preview screen [don't want that at all], but at least Recorder did not close

so not at all opium based on my normal work flow
Photo of Fabrizio Camuso

Fabrizio Camuso

  • 71 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Same here:  I'd like old behaviour brought back.
 
As it is now:
- unnecessary click  on preview window (RETURN key??)
- unnecessary click /RETURN on file selector
- clips just added to bin and not also to the storyboard

My favourite workflow for now:
- check hide preview window ;  select   'save'   on    'do this ...'
- 'automatic file name' in file options

F9/F10:
- clip is saved without preview and without file name prompt (but not added to clip bin)
- recorder is ready for next recording
Photo of epc

epc

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I recently upgraded to Camtasia 9 and find the new behavior with the .trec files extremely inconvenient. Previously you could preview the clip, decide to save it or not, and where to save it, and if desired, what to name it. For me it is essential the the project files and all media are in the same folder, partly because I often hand the project over the Marketing to pretty up for final release. As far as I can see the default behavior is not changeable by Tools-->Options. Please restore the old system!!!
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 5939 Posts
  • 1685 Reply Likes
try this ...

under Recorder's tools/options/general tab, file options, be sure and check "ask for file name"

then under Recorder's tools/options/program tab, select hide preview window after recording is stopped, then select save in the dropdown, then unselect hide preview window, 

with those settings, you should get the behavior you're looking for
Photo of epc

epc

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Got it! Thanks for the quick reply.
Photo of Lon Naylor

Lon Naylor

  • 84 Posts
  • 52 Reply Likes
Here's a sneak peek at a new series I'm creating that addresses this question. The Camtasia 9 Survival Guide series will be out in a couple of weeks...



Lon Naylor
(Edited)