Camtasia 9 selects more than what you selected and subsequently sections of a project get deleted

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 11 months ago
While editing in 9.0.0, I'll make a selection on the timeline, maybe 7 seconds in length and delete it since it is dead air.

Later on I'll zoom out to go back to the beginning, and chunks of video not connected to (stitched) nor anywhere near the selection have also been deleted.  The most recent example is I made a cut 9 minutes into the video and the first 5 minutes are gone. It's not just a clean delete either. Sometimes parts of the audio remain, or parts of the video other times, so it's not straightforward or consistent.  


It hasn't been that big of a deal because you can just copy everything after the deletion as a new project, undo a thousand times until you find out when it was actually deleted, and combine the two projects later.
But this most recent time Camtasia crashed immediately after I tried continuing once I got the footage back, and I lost all the edits. The screenshot is what was recovered by Camtasia and is one step forward of returning everything to the timeline.

Has anyone run into this? I can't find anything that prompts this to happen and this is the first time I haven't been able to recover from it.

I should specify by 'cut made here'; I split the clip on both ends, highlight it (either by clicking or drag-selecting), and then hit delete (not backspace). The clips can either be the same source, different sources, or not even related. Think deleting a trec selection and losing part of the same trec, another mp4, some stills, and then also callouts/animations on your timeline.
Photo of michael.bodden

michael.bodden

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • confused

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of michael.bodden

michael.bodden

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'm guessing since nobody has said anything, I'm the only one with this problem.. so I'm just going to do a fresh install to see if that fixes it.
Maybe it was fixed in 9.0.1? I feel like I would have gotten a 'fixed in 9.0.1 thx' reply if that was the case.
Photo of linda

linda

  • 8 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
It's happened to me in almost every editing session I do. I've spent more time using the back button to find the moment I made the cut or I've just given up and ended up spending huge amounts of time to restructure what I had.  I now lock down all tracks except the one I'm cutting, but wastes so much time in doing so.  
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6243 Posts
  • 1828 Reply Likes
what do you mean by "back button"?
Photo of TomT

TomT

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I also am having a problem with Camtasia 9 selecting more than what is selected. I'll be working toward the end of a project, highlight and delete something small, then look back at the beginning to see chunks missing. Is there a setting that can be changed or a technique used (other than multiple undos) to forego this problem?
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6245 Posts
  • 1830 Reply Likes
it is possible that sections of timeline [objects] , out of view, are still selected

try clicking on empty timeline space to de-select everything, then do your new selection

does that work?
Photo of TomT

TomT

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for the reply. I have been trying to do the de-select method  for the past couple days. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Strangely, if I zoom all the way out and select things, it does not happen (but I can't edit that far out). But, if I'm zoomed in close, for example to the end, click on empty space, select a small part, then zoom all the way back out, sometimes material is selected all the way toward the front not associated to the clip I'm working on at all. It is a very inconsistent thing. I've been getting in the habit of zooming out every time I want to delete something, which takes extra time. I just can't figure out why random clips will become selected, even if I de-select everything first.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6245 Posts
  • 1830 Reply Likes
try using ctl-D to de-select everything on timeline; then proceed
(Edited)