Camtasia erased everything on my project

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
Hello, I've been working on a project for about 2 weeks now. All of a sudden, I got a message saying it was created in an earlier version (it wasn't) and wanted me to convert. I did and it just erased everything. How can I get everything back?
Photo of Sam Sommer

Sam Sommer

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • sad, frustrated, angry

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5631 Posts
  • 2923 Reply Likes
Under normal circumstances, "I realize this is not normal"

When Camtasia upgrades a project from an earlier version.It creates a copy from the original .camproj to convert.

Hopefully, the original .camproj is still untouched and it's original folder. The default location is in your documents under Camtasia Studio. If you changed the location, it should be there.

If it's there I would make a copy of it for starters and move it to my desktop.Then I would try opening it and see what happens. If it gives you the same message I would contact tech support and see if they can sort this out.

This is a Free Service...............You can Contact CHAT or Submit a ticket

       https://support.techsmith.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

Or call, >>>

 Toll Free: 800.517.3001 (U.S. & Canada Only)

8:00 AM to 7:00 PM EST Monday through Friday

Regards, Joe

Chat Support Hours.

You can reach the “CHAT” Support Team for assistance from

 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM ET, Monday-Friday

 Saturday from 12:00 PM to 4:00 PM ET.

(Edited)
Photo of Sam Sommer

Sam Sommer

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Ya, it saved a backup but when I try to use the backup the same thing happens.