Camtasia 8 doesn't remember settings

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
Some background:
I have a project of 12 "chapters" which all have a lot of common elements: same video size, same lack of Table of Contents and so forth.

I have been making a series of minor changes to these files and have noticed a recurring series of irks.

The projects are all in different directories, but all within a master directory. The directories and projects are all name:

Ch1
Ch2
Ch3....

You get the idea. A lot of common elements. 

This is what I have found:


In multiple renderings of the same type content, these things are kept from the previous project:

* If an existing title/callout is copied/pasted within the project, the text reverts to the text of the _previously-edited_ title. This is weird.

The video size changes back from the previously-set 1000 px wide to 684 pixels wide with a Custom Production Setting

The HTML Title is set to the previously-saved project - this is truly irksome, since I have to change this title for every one of the 12 "chapters" I am working with.

The Table of Contents is active and searchable where it had been deactivated. The default ON never saves to the preferred OFF

The file save location for project rendering is defaulted to the previous project's-saved location. Again, the saved location of the current project is not remembered and displays the location of the previously-exported project.

Question: when a project is SAVED, why are not these settings also saved?
Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 7138 Posts
  • 3873 Reply Likes
When you save your project. The settings are only saved in the "Project File".
Open that and all your settings will be there. 

When "Reopening" the original recording. It opens clean with no information attached. 

Regards, Joe
(Edited)
Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Hi Joe;

Hmmm...maybe I am tripping over terms. I have a camproj file (ch1.camproj, ch2.camproj, ch3.camproj...) and I make the changes to these camproj files.

When I export out the content (File > Produce and Share), it is all of these settings that are lost.

If the production data is not stored in the camproj file, where would it be saved then?
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7021 Posts
  • 2282 Reply Likes
have you tried creating a production preset? that can preserve most settings; but HTML title, production title, and destination output location need to be set for each production
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 7138 Posts
  • 3873 Reply Likes
Kayakman can probably advise you better than me for what you are attempting to do.

 But if you saved your project within Camtasia Studio and gave it a name you need to open that file for your settings to be accessed. A project file has a green Icon.




Opening multiple projects at the same time requires them to be added to the library.
(Edited)
Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Well, yeah, Joe..not wishing to be snarky, but I kinda figgered out how to save and open projects in Camtasia a few years ago.

This seems rather self-evident to me: if a project file is saved, it should be saved with all the production settings.

Now, I am missing something REALLY obvious, which I am not discounting, or this has been a massive oversight that I am the first to notice - which is very, very, VERY unlikely. Therefore something else is going on which I haven't figured out yet.

Thx!

Don
Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
kayakman;

Yeah, creating a custom preset is one of those things that I should have set up for this if I knew I was going to be touching the files so much. There is an issue with Blackboard which has been forcing me to tweak this project far more than anyone would find reasonable.

But this is something I will be doing the next time I do one of these multi-chaptered project...which in fact will be next week.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7003 Posts
  • 2262 Reply Likes
I wrapped up a 184 chapter project earlier this week, using a preset that saved me many steps vs. doing custom productions; a preset does not give direct access to the HTML title control; I found it faster to edit the HTMLs after production to set individual title values
(Edited)
Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Hi Joe;

For some reason, I don't see your response that I got via email posted here.

First, I have worked tech support, and I know the first question it ask is "have you verified the computer is plugged in...", so no offense taken. Well..yeah,OK, it kinda was taken, but long-since forgotten.

And yes, pix are invaluable but in these webforms, by the time I have them captured, uploaded and posted, usually more time is spent on that process than on everything else.

So, to clarify by words, yes, I am talking about in the actual production of  a video, in which the user goes to File > Produce and share... and goes through the steps of rendering the final output, Cam8.2 on my system, for me, does not retain the custom production settings that I changed before I saved the project. And yes, the project is saved every time. You can't leave Camtasia or open another project without being prompted to save.

Specifically then, the elements I am changing each time are:

In Flash/HTML5 Player Options:
     Video embed size which is saved at 1000 px wide but reverts to 684 pixels

      Options in which the Table of Contents and Searchable options are turned off at save, are turned back on when the project is re-opened.

      HTML Options which displays the HTML tab name
      

In Produce Video:
     while the Production Name is saved, the Folder: location reverts to the location of the previously-opened project (for example, the location for "Ch5") when I have "Ch6" opened.

Collectively, these fiddly-bits take a fair amount of time to redo, and in my opinion, unnecessarily.

I am rather hoping that a Techsmith tech will chime in here and tell me of a feature I haven't turned on and all my problems go away.

(And in that vein, if I could queue up all these export options then click one button to do the rendering and saving to the specified location while I am gone for the night, that would be perfect. Yeah I know about the batch process option, and I puttered with that, but batch processing doesn't appear to allow me to specify save location and some other attributes.)

Thanks for letting me vent!

Don




Photo of Don Wallbaum

Don Wallbaum

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Not a problem, Joe!

Maybe I will just bounce this issue over to the support page and see if the techs have any ideas.

Thx!

Don
Photo of Jennifer Bedford

Jennifer Bedford, Official Rep

  • 424 Posts
  • 48 Reply Likes
Thanks Don for the question and Joe, for the suggestion for him.  It definitely sounds like Tech Support is the best way for you to go.  Hopefully they can help you find away to work out the settings.  Let me know if you need further assistance.  Thanks.
Jenn


This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.