Camtasia Studio should have Close Project and Revert Project menu items

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 4 years ago
When things go wrong while experimenting with a project, it would be nice to be able to return to the most recently saved version of the project.

This is currently not possible in Camtasia Studio. (Opening the already opened project shows a strange error message.)

So I'd very much like to suggest to add two new menu items:

  • Close project
  • Revert project


Thanks.
Photo of Axel

Axel

  • 123 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
  • thankful

Posted 7 years ago

  • 2
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6807 Posts
  • 2161 Reply Likes
Camtasia will auto save the project every so many minutes based on the value set in tools/options/program menu but it is also a good practice to do manual saves after some edits

to close the current open project, and keep CS open, use ctl-N [new project]

suggest you save the project as "named versions" after some edits; if project is called MyVideo.camproj, use alt-F, A to save with a new name, like MyVideo-A.camproj, etc.

immediately after this save, use alt-F, A to rename project [before more edits] to MyVideo-B.camproj.

then do more edits and experimenting; you can always go back to the -A version

when I need this flexibility, I'll version rename the project every few minutes.

use alt-F,R to access a list of recent projects
Photo of Axel

Axel

  • 123 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
Thanks, Kayak Man. But that's not what I actually meant. I probably was too ambiguous in my description. Let me give another example:

Here are the steps to reproduce the issue:


  1. Save the project.

  2. Amend the project without saving.



Now, if you want to discard your changes and revert back to the previously saved version from step #1, how do you get back to the previously saved version?

That is the problem scenario I've been trying to describe.

I often use this technique to see if I can achieve some improvement by fiddling around. If the new version isn't better than the old one, I just discard the unsaved version.

Currently, discarding the unsaved version and getting back to the saved version is quite cumbersome.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6807 Posts
  • 2161 Reply Likes
Axel, thanks for the additional detail

here is how I do it now ...

with project loaded that has unsaved edits you don't want

use alt-F, R to see list of recent projects

select last saved project you want to load

choose no at dialog re saving current project

current project is deleted and last saved version is loaded
Photo of Axel

Axel

  • 123 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
Hi Kayakman, sorry for getting back on this thread after such a long while.

The problem I see with your suggested solution is that in a hurry you quickly have chosen [Yes] instead of [No] when it comes to overwrite the current project.

I would still prefer a separate menu item.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.