Can I automatically remove autsaved thumbnails from tray?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
Whenever I save a capture, the newly saved file *AND* the autosaved capture are both in the tray.  It wasn't always this way.

It seems to have started in 4?  I really don't need to see two thumbnails of the same screenshot ~ especially when I'm going to be deleting the autosaved capture because I only want the file I name.

  • If this is the way of the future, how far back can I revert? 
  • Can I have both an old version and the most recently updated versions on my computer?  There are features in 4 that I like.
  • I also used to be able to rename the .snagproj to .jpg or something which, essentially, removed the need to go back and delete the .snagproj file. 
Thanks for your help.

I'm currently using 4.0.7.

Photo of PiperTWilson

PiperTWilson

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
  • Frustrated

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jason Eagleston

Jason Eagleston, Employee

  • 611 Posts
  • 83 Reply Likes
Hi, 

Yes, that is new behavior as of version 4.0 to ensure that all of your objects (arrows, text, etc.) stay "live" and editable. Because once the capture is saved to a PNG it becomes flattened and is no longer changeable. But I can see how this could be annoying if you just take lots of captures and save them to normal file types. 

The built in "revert" functionality stores off the most recent previous version (most likely 4.0.6). So, if you want to also install version 3.3.7, you can download it here - https://www.techsmith.com/download/oldversions. Generally speaking, we don't recommend switching back and forth between major versions as there can be fairly large side effects and potential data loss if you have version 4 documents containing information that version 3 doesn't understand. That said, they can be installed together but can't be running at the same time. Once you download the older version, you'll just have to rename "Snagit.app" in your Applications folder to something unique (e.g. Snagit3.0).

Stepping back, though, you bring up a really good point, as I said, we added this for a couple key use cases that we saw customers trying to accomplish in Snagit, but it has a downside of adding extra copies of files for those that don't want to keep the original "live" capture. I will pass this idea/feedback to our product manager and design team to see if there is a way to accommodate both workflows. 

Let me know if you have any additional questions!
Photo of PiperTWilson

PiperTWilson

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Jason,

You have just saved me a ton of work. Bless you!

I hope the team is able to come up with a solution. I have read other folks talking about a similar desire.

Seriously, this is the best news I've had all day. Even though it's only 9:20 here, I think you've won the best news for the rest of the day, soon.

Cheers!
Photo of PiperTWilson

PiperTWilson

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Hey there,

I have an update on this. Jason's idea is working like a charm.

The only thing is that, when I quit one version and open the other, the Snagir Helper balks a bit. The fix, prompted by Snagit itself, is to restart the newly opened version.

A small price to pay.