CTRL+C in OneNote is being captured by Snagit

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • (Edited)
For some reason, Snagit started capturing an image every time I copy something (text) inside OneNote. This is very annoying.

Also, even when "Preview in Editor" is disabled, a capture still ends up in the Snagit editor - something I'm almost certain didn't happen before.

I suspect this may all have something to do with the new snipping tool integration.

Is there a way to disable this/these behaviour? Thanks!
Photo of Miguel Melo

Miguel Melo

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 4 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 5236 Posts
  • 2474 Reply Likes
Hi there

Have you tried disabling the Snipping Tool integration to see?


Photo of davidlambert

davidlambert

  • 132 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Open SnagIt Capture preferences and select the 'Capture' tab. Is 'Open screenshots copied from system tools' active? If so, remove the checkmark.



Photo of Miguel Melo

Miguel Melo

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Wow. I stared at this very dialog for 30 seconds, and could not fathom that was the option to untick!

Unchecking it does indeed fix the OneNote problem. (the other matter seems unaffected)
Photo of davidlambert

davidlambert

  • 132 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Happy I could help.
Photo of mikebryde

mikebryde

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks! I was having this exact issue and unchecking the 'Open screenshots copied from system tools' fixed it!
Photo of Nicholas Rich

Nicholas Rich, Employee

  • 20 Posts
  • 18 Reply Likes
Hi Miguel,

The development team is looking into the CTRL+C behavior you mentioned; I'm happy to hear our community was able to help you find an immediate workaround.

In regards to your other matter:
`Also, even when "Preview in Editor" is disabled, a capture still ends up in the Snagit editor - something I'm almost certain didn't happen before.`

All captures made by Snagit end up in the Editor. Once they disappear from the Recent tray, you can find them in the Library. The intended use of our 'Preview in Editor' option is to allow users to stop the Editor from opening/foregrounding each time a capture is taken, not disabling the functionality of content going to the Editor.

If I've misunderstood the issue, please let me know. Otherwise, I hope I've provided some clarity!
Photo of Miguel Melo

Miguel Melo

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Thank you for your answer. You addressed all concerns. I was under the impression that the non-Preview option didn't pull into the editor, but I guess it did but somehow never "registered" in my mind. :-)