Default privacy on Capture

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 week ago
By default Capture uploads to a folder on Screencast called default - the privacy settings on that folder are "Public" https://support.techsmith.com/hc/en-us/articles/227569348-Content-Privacy-Levels - That's not cool - certainly not without a very prominent warning - especially for users of other techsmith products (such as Jing) where that's not the case who thus may not have that expectation.
Photo of tim

tim

  • 4 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 2
Photo of muganga

muganga

  • 11 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
Ouch!
Does Snagit do the same? It seems that Capture is a subset of Snagit, so it might
Photo of Paul Middlin

Paul Middlin, Employee

  • 1322 Posts
  • 334 Reply Likes
Tim, I think we long ago changed this to "unlisted", which means people can only see the media you share by URL, and not everything in the folder. Are you a long-time Screencast user perhaps, that still has the old setting?

I'm sorry about this. I agree that it is unexpected and not the right choice at all.
Photo of tim

tim

  • 4 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Thanks Paul. I ́m a screencast user since 2010 I reckon. So 10 years. I guess that ́s probably "long-time". Perhaps you comunicated to me about this at some point and I missed the communication? Not sure. Can ́t say I remember a communication like that - but also not saying that you didn't. 

Glad the default has changed - that ́s good news for newer users.

I wonder how many other "long-time" users might have this problem explode on them at some point?
(Edited)
Photo of tim

tim

  • 4 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Jing is now end of life and lots of users will be switching to Capture as a result. A collegue of mine just did that and encountered the same problem that I had - all his new Capture screenshots had became available to anyone he shared a link with unbenownst to him. Fortunately I mentioned it to him and helped him to change the privacy setting on his default folder. 

I think you ought to communicate to (active) (jing) users who have the privacy setting on their default folder set as public - or for people who have never changed the setting themselves change it for them to unlisted.