'Delete' button should say 'Remove' after clicking 'Remove from Library'

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 10 months ago
When you right-click a file in the Library and choose 'Remove from Library', the dialog that appears has the buttons 'Delete' and 'Cancel'. Surely the 'Delete' button in this case should say 'Remove' as I am specifically not deleting the file, just removing from the library.

Photo of Neville

Neville

  • 73 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Steve

Steve

  • 9 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
It does say it is deleting from the library.  Remove and Delete are the same thing.  They should be consistent though in which term they use to indicate removing/deleting.  If they say "Delete from Library" then the button should say "Delete".  But if they say "Remove from Library" then the button should say "Remove", for consistency, which is important in a software package.  TechSmith QC should have caught this.
Photo of Neville

Neville

  • 73 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
When you right click on a file, you can choose to do 2 completely different things: Remove from Library or Delete, so there is actually a context within Snagit where these terms are not the same thing. I agree that a QC team should have caught this.
(Edited)
Photo of Sandy Kotes

Sandy Kotes

  • 35 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes
I was hesitant to use the remove option because of the "Delete" label. I did double check that my image would not be deleted completely first. 

I agree with the above that the labels and functions should be consistent. I have worked with programmers for 36 years - good to know some things do not change! 

No offense TechSmith Developers!