Disable SnagIt Auto-Save

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 years ago
Option to Disable Automatic Saves in SnagIt 10:
I wrote tech support to see if I was missing the means to disable auto-save, & was informed it's not an option. Given that only very rarely I use screen captures more than once, it needlessly adds clutter & uses disk space (& manual deletion is a pain). This option SHOULD be under "Preferences" & would be a welcome addition to an otherwise fine program. Some folks might find it useful--although set auto-naming convention & location of the file further hinder its usefulness--but it should be programmed as an OPTION.
Photo of Richard L Ross

Richard L Ross

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 9 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Josie

Josie

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, Richard, thanks for your suggestion. I'm in user experience; I like to understand how people use our software. If you don't mind, and without sharing anything too personal, would you mind telling us what you do capture and how you use it? Understanding that will help us design better for you. Thanks.
Photo of David M. Converse

David M. Converse

  • 440 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
Richard, from a technical standpoint the program almost has to save captures to a file. Allowing them to be automatically deleted sounds good except its an easy way to have data loss if it was accidentally turned on- Snagit would happily delete every capture and you wouldn't know until you went back later looking for the files.

One common principle of software development is to err on the side of safety- always do everything possible to avoid data loss. Auto-deleting user data is a dangerous idea. Can you suggest how to do so while still letting the user know (without confirming every single deletion) that this is happening?
Photo of Richard L Ross

Richard L Ross

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Josie
Admittedly I do not use the more advanced graphic editing features that seem to appear with each upgrade--with a few exceptions. Mostly screen captures of error messages that will not print except as a small portion of a full-screen capture, enlarging text for printing on legal docs that are otherwise difficult to read without magnification, poorly designed web pages that otherwise generate, e.g., 12 pages of garbage when capturing only the useful portion can be resized & use only 1 page. The ability to capture & manipulate images IS a very good feature, but on a regular basis it is the other uses that I use on an almost a daily basis.

David
I am not talking about "auto-deletion" per se--simply the OPTION not to auto-save. Prior to v.9 (?--never upgraded to it), v.8 & earlier versions I've owned never had an auto-save feature: which was fine by me--if I needed to save the capture I simply used the "save as" file option to both name the file, choose the output file type & depending on its use, move it to the most relevant "MyDocuments" self-created subdirectory. And again, I'm talking about an OPTION to disable--if someone is worried about image loss, that person need not elect to disable. Freedom of choice, as it were, based on individual need: this should also be a "common principle of software development"--v.8 & all earlier versions had no such feature, yet I've considered SnagIt a "must-have" program for at least 8 years prior to updating to v.10. In effect, you're saying that prior to the latest versions SnagIt was "dangerous"--I beg to differ.

Richard
Photo of Julia Schrenkler

Julia Schrenkler

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
First know I love SnagIt and use it quite a bit.

Believe me, I appreciate the default to safety. Personally, I just don't need - nor want - a storage history. It's part simplicity and part space.

This is a personal preference on my part. Perhaps if I could easily navigate to the folder where these files are saved/held (maybe I'm missing something, but I couldn't find it easily) and blow them out routinely I'd be less interested in requesting a way to disable the auto save.

I physically save all captures of value to me and file it the way I choose and in the way that suits me best, so having a library of everything I captured - about a third of what I actually use in my work - is just unnecessary.

Again, I'm happy to work around it if it doesn't exist. Can you point me to the folder/ file structure where these are saved?
Photo of Mack

Mack

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am looking for a way to turn off the autosave. It started appearing today when I apparently updated the software unitentionally.

I do not need to save every image capture. In fact, out of 100 captures, I have saved maybe 2. For me, it's primarily a communication tool to share screenshots via email.

It is extremely annoying and time-consuming to be forced to save....especially after five months with this program working the way I wanted it to (and the way it should work).

Moving on to Micorosoft's expression encoder from here. In the meantime, the print-screen key will have to suffice!
Photo of Richard L Ross

Richard L Ross

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Julia & Mack
Certainly agree, as I said over 2 years ago, that mandatory autosave is senseless & just lazy programming if a user CHOOSES not to use it--especially with a fairly small SSD OS drive.
There is, however, a solution that's only a partial pain-in-the-ass: if the defailut is set to editor view, at least, there should be a thumbnail of the current, & if other saved captures, you can right-click the image & choose "delete to recycle bin." I THINK the folder with saved images is under your User, maybe roaming, name, but, hell, shouldn't TechSmith answer this simple inquiry???
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 195 Reply Likes
Have you tried unticking the save options and manually save what you want?

Photo of Richard L Ross

Richard L Ross

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes, I missed this change in version 11.
You need to open the File menu in the Editor to access these "Advanced Settings."
Only nitpick here would be to put these options under "Preferences" to make it more intuitive.
Finally, showing the default directory for saved captures AND allowing a user to change that default would be a nice touch.
Photo of vikrant

vikrant

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hey, do we have an option to auto save, what is been recorded? I did not see the option right away in snagit recorder. THe problem is that I loose the valuable recordings if either
-- if I forget to stop and save the recording before sleeping the laptop
-- the laptop battery dies, or the laptop goes in sleep mode etc
-- if snagit crashes (more frequent)

I would love to have MS Word style auto save while it is recording..
Photo of Laguna Hiker

Laguna Hiker

  • 8 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'd like to see the option to disable AutoSave returned to Snagit. My captures are almost always throw-aways, and it is a bit of an annoyance to have to manually open the AutoSave folder periodically and purge it. I can certainly understand the desire to err on the side of safety in implementing AutoSave, but the goal can be accomplished by turning it on by default and providing a warning to the user if they opt to disable it. Thanks for your consideration.
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 195 Reply Likes
Try looking at the editor options again.  In v 12.2 the options are there in the same place as I posted above.  Also in this version the user can choose the location of the auto save folder
Photo of Laguna Hiker

Laguna Hiker

  • 8 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks, Manny. I wasn't as clear as I should have been. I'm using OS X version 3.3.1, Not the Windows version. So, I've actually posted this message in the wrong section. Off to the Mac section!
(Edited)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.