discount not working on web site

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 months ago
  • (Edited)
Yesterday I tried to use the 15off discount  and found it didn't work and wrote to TechSmith indicating the offer didn't work. Today I got a very interesting answer:

 Thank
you for contacting TechSmith.

 The15% off promo ended yesterday.

 Thank you,

 XXX XXXXX (Name(s) have been removed for privacy reasons)


Inside Sales


2405Woodlake Drive
Okemos, MI 48864


(517) 381-2300


With XXXXX's answer I feel he dropped the ball, I wanted to buy 2 upgrades and according to the email, the offer did not say only applies to new purchases only.  If that is the case then the email should reflect the discount doesn't apply to upgrades......

so much for being a loyal customer.
Photo of john

john

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • Kyle didn't address what the problem was and left me with the feeling I should go pound sand!

Posted 4 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 442 Posts
  • 291 Reply Likes
> , I wanted to buy 2 upgrades and according to the email, the offer did not say only applies to new purchases only.  If that is the case then the email should reflect the discount doesn't apply to upgrades......
The e-mail that you've quoted above says absolutely nothing about upgrades vs new purchases.  It says that the deal ended the previous day. That's it. And it did.

It was originally Monday, then they extended it for two days. They sent e-mails, it appeared on their web site, etc, etc. And it did apply to upgrades. From the e-mail that they sent out:

*Now through November 27, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. PST receive 25% off TechSmith online store purchases. Single user licenses only. Includes new licenses and upgrades. Includes education and government licenses. Excludes Screencast Monthly, Maintenance Renewals, and Backup Disc purchases. No discount code required.


You had three days in which to take advantage of the offer. For whatever reason, you decided not to do so until it was a day late. Then you post a message complaining about something  that is factually wrong (" the email should reflect the discount doesn't apply to upgrades"), and has nothing to do with the response that you received.

So... what, they should hold the discount open for the entire year for "loyal customers"? And I suppose that Amazon should do the same?

There are legitimate reasons for criticising TechSmith - that they sometimes seem a bit tone deaf about feature needs, for example - but this isn't one of them. Their customer support is generally first rate and they don't ever seem to intentionally try to take advantage of their customers. They offered a deal for a certain amount of time. Outside of that window, as with pretty much any retailer who does occasional sales, you pay the regular prices.
Photo of john

john

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Why not have the web page indicate the sale was over when I entered the discount code?  It doesn't take much effort by the web page developers to add that type of logic and it would inform the client.  By not responding with any type of message leaves the customer wondering why the code does not work. 
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 442 Posts
  • 291 Reply Likes
Because anyone visiting the purchase page outside of the sale period would expect to pay the standard price, so that fact that there was a sale on x days or x weeks or x months ago would be irrelevant to them.

Anyone who was visiting to pay the discounted price would have received some sort of notification about the sale, and all of the notifications spelt out very, very clearly the period that the sale was on for.

It would not make any sense for a company to modify its web site just to tell people that a past sale is over.
Photo of john

john

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Well Mal, I can respect your decision and I will have to think about whether I will be a customer in the future.
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 442 Posts
  • 291 Reply Likes
I'm not saying this to rag on you, but you made a mistake. You either didn't read the deal properly or you just left it too late.

Nobody likes to make mistakes and even fewer people like admitting them, me included.

Of course you have the right to cease to be a TechSmith customer, but if this is the reason, and the software does what you want, you may well be cutting off your nose to spite your face. Still, it's your call.

Good luck.
Photo of Vincent LaVallee

Vincent LaVallee

  • 35 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Mal, Unless John was completely wrong in that he was trying to use the discount after the last of the three days, you and Tech Smith are missing his point. In his post, I do not see anything about the exact date or time he tried to make his purchase, so unless you know this, it is a bit far reaching to come down on him. As I read his note, he did try to make a purchase on the last day, and the discount code did not work (perhaps because it was not the third discount day, although I see no evidence of this). In fact, the response from Kyle at Tech Smith from the NEXT day says that the sale ended the previous day, which was the day John tried using the discount! It took a full day, or at least till the next day to get a response, which was a very un-customer oriented response. Kyle should have said something more like, "What problem did you see, and at what time of the day did you try to purchase with the discount code?" And based on this answer, he could have offered John the discount code for his purchase even AFTER the discount had expired! That would be good customer service.


But Tech Smith has a lot bigger problem. They have ventured off into a realm (the features of the product) that appear to not match the customer's needs nor desires, based on the comments I see in the forum daily. This is exactly what Microsoft did with Windows 8, and the CEO was eventually fired, impacting their bread & butter income greatly, forcing more people to Apple products (Macs), smart phones, and tablets. This appears to be Tech Smith's main flaw now. I personally saw the product degrade noticeably in Version 12, and I have stuck with Version 11 ever since.


Vincent
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 442 Posts
  • 291 Reply Likes
> Mal, Unless John was completely wrong in that he was trying to use the discount after the last of the three days,

Which he hasn't actually disputed, but please, do go on.

you and Tech Smith are missing his point. In his post, I do not see anything about the exact date or time he tried to make his purchase, so unless you know this, it is a bit far reaching to come down on him.


So instead you make the assumption, based on nothing but speculation and a fistful of maybes, that the complaint wasn't lodged after the sale had ended, that Kyle didn't have information about when the purchase was attempted, and that Kyle therefore didn't respond appropriately.

Sure, point "clearly" missed, but please don't let the opportunity to grind your own axe slip by.  (Incidentally, I think you'll find that I mentioned as an aside that your complaint is, in fact, Techsmith's biggest issue at the moment.)
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2800 Posts
  • 594 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi John,
Can you please let me know the date of when you tried to purchase on our website?
This very short sale was timed on our site to end at the time mentioned in the email promotion, so if you attempted to purchase outside of that time, you would not receive the sale price.

We do not post when a sale has ended on our website.

Just so there is no question about what this sale was:
1. It was ONLY given by email invitation.
2. There was nothing posted on our website.
3. It was for a certain time only as seen in the image, below.
4. You had to use the link in the email to get the sale price along with the coupon code.
5. This sale was for a limited time ONLY, directly after the 2-day Cyber Monday sale that was promoted on our site.

And, just to clear up any confusion or speculation about what that email said:

So, overall, if you clicked the link to purchase AFTER the time specified, you would not receive the sale price, because the sale had ended.

Please feel free to contact me personally at k.mullins@techsmith.com if feel you did click through in time, and something happened to prevent you from correctly receiving the sale price.

Kelly