Does Renaming a Screenshot save the name when shared?

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Under Consideration
I notice that when I rename a screenshot in the Editor View then share the link, the new name does not save. The recipient receives a screenshot with the default name of "Screenshot_date". Is this behavior by design or a bug? I would expect that if renaming is a feature, then the new name should be saved also. When I go back to the library and the TechSmith folder in my google drive I notice that the default names for the screenshots appear there too, and not the new names.
Photo of PMTrainer

PMTrainer

  • 9 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Kelly Rush

Kelly Rush, Product Manager

  • 345 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
Hi!

Yes, the new should definitely be saving in Google Drive, and should be visible as the title when you share it. Note that it does need to sync the changes with Google Drive, which can take anywhere from 1-60 seconds (depending on how quickly Google acts in the syncing process), so if you save it and share it immediately, the old name might be visible for just a bit while the change syncs up.

If that's what's happening for you, that's normal behavior; if, on the other hand, you're waiting multiple minutes before it syncs up, or if it never happens at all, that shouldn't be happening, and definitely write back and let us know so we can look into it with you!
Photo of PMTrainer

PMTrainer

  • 9 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly,
Thanks for responding. The "new" name never updates and all of my screenshots using snagit for chrome on my google drive have the default nomenclature of "Screenshot_yyyy-mm-dd:hr:m:sec.png". It doesn't matter how long after save the link is shared. I am not sure if this behavior is unique to me or if others have noticed it, or if it is something you can replicate. I would be happy to share screenshots if you'd like. If I save and share immediately (just as a test) the new name never updates once it syncs with Google Drive, nor is it updating in Google Drive. I hope my explanation helps you understand the observable behavior of what I'm experiencing. My version is 1.0.0.22 for both the app and the extension if that helps.
Photo of Kelly Rush

Kelly Rush, Product Manager

  • 345 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
Hey,

So we were chatting about this a bit after you posted, trying to figure out what might be happening. Just so we can cross this off the list, are you making sure to press enter/return after you type in your title? We noticed that if we typed in a title name, and then clicked back into the library view, it never actually saved the title. If that's the case, give that a try; if not, let me know and we might have to take you up on the screenshots/screen recording!
Photo of PMTrainer

PMTrainer

  • 9 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I did try your suggestion and you are correct - I would click back into the library without clicking "enter". Hitting enter does the trick! It wasn't "intuitive" to me to do that. I watched the "Need help? Watch this video to learn more" video a couple of times and it didn't expressly say to hit enter. I did see the "saved" at the bottom right of the screenshot and that's probably why I assumed that once I changed the name and clicked back to the library the save would commit the name change. I suspected that I was missing something and it's the reason I submitted this as a "question" rather than a "problem" because I wasn't convinced it was a "bug". Thanks again for your quick follow-up. All is well with regards to this particular functionality.
Photo of Kelly Rush

Kelly Rush, Product Manager

  • 345 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
No problem! I think your workflow is actually the proper one though; we're trying to make this a very similar experience to Google Docs/Drive, and you wouldn't be expected to execute a "Save" action in there. So this will likely go on the "To Do" list. Thanks for bringing it up and sticking through to the end! :)
Photo of PMTrainer

PMTrainer

  • 9 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
You bet. It's all part of the beta testing process. Happy to be part of it and hope that my contributions help.
Photo of Kelly Rush

Kelly Rush, Product Manager

  • 345 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
They sure do, thanks again!
Photo of EduardoCarrilloNET

EduardoCarrilloNET

  • 9 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I tried renaming files from the library and it worked fine.
It is necessary to click on the image name, type in the new name and the press [ENTER] for the change to be applied.
A confirmation pops up just below the image and, for me, it took no more than 10 seconds for the change to sync back to Drive.
Photo of PMTrainer

PMTrainer

  • 9 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Eduardo,
You are correct. You have to press [ENTER] to see the change applied. The confirmation is almost immediate and reflected in Google Drive as well. Thanks for chiming in. 
Photo of Randy Schott

Randy Schott

  • 396 Posts
  • 47 Reply Likes
A fix is in progress for this and it should ship out with the next release (some time next week).  Thanks again for reporting it!

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.