Don't move the contents of my tracks automatically.. ever

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 4 months ago
I dragged something from my clip bin to the timeline, and it automatically shifted everything to the right on this track only to accommodate it.  Over course, now everything on this track after the insertion point is out of sync with the rest.  Depending on my zoom-in level, I might not even notice that the shift has taken place. 

Is there any way to disable this "feature".  I would much prefer making room on the track myself to fit the new clip.

Thanks.
Photo of louis.hamel

louis.hamel

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 years ago

  • 2
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6240 Posts
  • 1828 Reply Likes
you can always execute an immediate undo [ctl-Z] to reverse the unexpected shift

personally, I never drag/drop; I always position playhead, create any needed space, then right click bin clip and add
Photo of Klaas Hobo

Klaas Hobo

  • 52 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
What a good common practice became for me is that when I have a bigger project I tend to split up some parts that are a logical unit, and then make a group of it. That's always preventing these problems.

When I'm editing I have lot's of time a external voice over in one track and in another the screen recording. Sometimes there needs to be editing in sound or screen and then the syncing is always trouble because on track can easily be moved without the other.

Mostly you only get notice of this after playing the total project by reviewing it. 
Photo of louis.hamel

louis.hamel

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
The only reason that the tracks get misaligned is that Camtasia moved something automatically.  Give me something in the options where i can toggle this behavior.  With the option turned off, it would refuse to add the new clip until I made space for it.  Problem solved.
Photo of Klaas Hobo

Klaas Hobo

  • 52 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
In Sony Vegas this is called a 'ripple insert' and can be turned on/off. Would be a great adding for Camtasia as well I would absolutely agree!

I agree that it would prevent unwanted (automatic) edits that you perhaps miss until the user sees the result....
Photo of karl.mochel

karl.mochel

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Agree with Louis. It is extremely problematic that Camtasia moved content off of Tracks that I had specifically named for what that content was doing on that track.

Undo is not a solution...It means something went wrong.