Google Drive default link sharing permissions

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
Is there a way to change the default shared link permissions when uploading to Google Drive?

I would like to be able to restrict the link to only accounts within my Google domain. It currently defaults to "Anyone with the link", and changing the folder permissions does not affect this.
Photo of Sandy Boxes

Sandy Boxes

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • concerned.

Posted 2 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Daniel Foster

Daniel Foster, Snagit strategy lead

  • 913 Posts
  • 209 Reply Likes
Hi Sandy - thanks for using Snagit! I poked around a bit and it looks like there is not currently a way to set those permissions from the Snagit output. I do not know whether the Google API would support it but it seems like a good idea to offer users that flexibility, if it is possible. I have changed your post to an "idea" so others who want this can also upvote it.
Photo of isaac

isaac

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
Hello, any updates on this? We're looking for an answer to this as well. thanks
Photo of gilbertg

gilbertg

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, I am looking for exactly this as well, being able to choose on a "case by case" basis when sharing if want it 100% open anyone with the link, or internally only within our organisation, any news on this, or did anyone find any workarounds?

Thanks!
Photo of Logan854

Logan854

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Please tell me any updates.