HiI'm curious - what is the 'save only' mode referred to in the latest update?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
What is the 'save only' mode referred to in the notes for the latest update to screenchomp?
Photo of Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jeremy Raleigh

Jeremy Raleigh, Employee

  • 50 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Because of recent changes to the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) we had to take steps to prevent children from downloading, installing and then using ScreenChomp to share recordings online but we will allow them to continue to create recordings but they can only save them on the device they are using in ScreenChomp.

The saving in this case does not save the video to the camera roll on the device. The video will only be available in ScreenChomp.

If you have further questions please let us know.
Photo of Denise

Denise

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Due to this issue, could you please add the option to save to camera roll?  Otherwise, this app will no longer be useful K-12.
Photo of Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for the response. That's interesting. How do the two ways of saving (to the Screenchomp cloud and locally to the app) present themselves? I can see no difference in the updated app.

By the way - saving to the local camera roll would be awesome, as the output could then be easily added to creative projects made in other apps.
Photo of Jeremy Raleigh

Jeremy Raleigh, Employee

  • 50 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
If the application is saving locally after you record a video the Share icon will say Save not share it is a pretty minor difference. You also cannot get to the share screen like you can if you are not in the mode where sharing is disabled.

We've had a few requests for the ability to add the video to the camera roll. Always good to hear from someone else looking for that and knowing a bit of the why.
Photo of Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for the response. So how do you switch from Share to Save - I was expecting this option maybe when WiFi is turned off? But that still allows Share (but adds the ScreenChomp to the 'failed' list).

On the Camera Roll front, ScreenChomp is a very popular app amongst educators because it does the whole screen annotation and voice recording thing but is a whole lot easier to use than Explain Everything! Save to Camera Roll would allow students to easily add ScreenChomps to documents such as epubs created in Book Creator or Keynote as 'evidence of learning'. The other 'feature' that is 'missing' (but maybe on purpose to keep things simple) is the ability to add typed text, where handwriting isn't enough. Generally it's a great app - thanks!
Photo of Jeremy Raleigh

Jeremy Raleigh, Employee

  • 50 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Share and save are tied to the age verification we preform. Because we only added the save option to deal with the COPPA changes we didn't think about giving the ability to have save mode to everyone even those who could share. Is there a particular reason you would like to be able to switch?

If you wanted to switch you would have to uninstall and reinstall the application and doing so would lose any recordings you currently have. However, it sounds like maybe there would be some value in allowing all users to easily switch between share and save and that is something we will want to look into more.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.