How do I find my TechSmith Account Snagit in Keychain for 2018 upgrade?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 10 months ago
I just upgraded to Snagit 2018.  I can't open my upgrade because I have a dialog box that states:  "Snagit 2018 want to use your confidentia information stored in TechSmith Account Snagit in your keychain.... How do I find this to get my password?

Also, does the Snagit2018 overwrite my older edition of Snagit? If not, how do I uninstall the older edition?

Thanks
Photo of ELearningDesigner

ELearningDesigner

  • 20 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 10 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4489 Posts
  • 2000 Reply Likes
WRT the latter question, it's been my own experience that each major version of SnagIt happily lives in its own folder and does not overwrite the older version.

Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of ELearningDesigner

ELearningDesigner

  • 20 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
As for my first question, all I had to do was give my Mac login password and Snagit was installed fine.
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4477 Posts
  • 1995 Reply Likes
Happy to hear you sorted it!

I'm but a lowly PC user, so the mention of "keychain" seems foreign to me. Is that a Mac thing or something obscure that TechSmith has implemented?

Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of pjonesCET

pjonesCET

  • 351 Posts
  • 65 Reply Likes
The key-chain is a Mac thing. Its an area that saves usernames and passwords so that you don't have to constantly remember. It's encrypted so that only if use a password can you retrieve the information. I haven't dealt with windows machines since worked on them as a Technician for school system There might be an equivalent function Windows that is called something else.
Photo of ELearningDesigner

ELearningDesigner

  • 20 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Back to my second part of the question. Does my older version of Snagit remain on my Mac in order for Snagit 2018 to run properly? Or, should I just drag and drop the older version to the trash? :D
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 709 Posts
  • 175 Reply Likes
Hi,

Both versions can live side by side as long as you like. The main reason for this is to allow users to trial the new version without having to remove their old version. If you don't have any plans to go back to the old Snagit, then it's safe to delete it. (And if you do need it again for any reason, you can always download it again here: https://www.techsmith.com/download/oldversions)
Photo of pjonesCET

pjonesCET

  • 355 Posts
  • 65 Reply Likes
As long as they are named differently. Both version remain and co-exist with each other, on Mac As for PC  the last time I ever worked on PC Old application are overwritten by Newer Version.