How do I set it so that if I delete from the snag it library, it does NOT delete from my documents file.

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
How do I make it so that if I delete an image out of the snag it library, it does NOT delete out of my documents folder? If I "save AS: something to a folder on my computer, I expect it to REMAIN there until I delete it from that folder. I just lost all of yesterday's work.
Photo of barbwolfe

barbwolfe

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Ty Griffin

Ty Griffin

  • 11 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
If you're working on a PC (not a Mac), then go to the Recyle Bin and 'restore' your lost photos. They're not really lost. I'm not sure how the recycle thing works on a Mac.
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1249 Posts
  • 856 Reply Likes
Just close the graphic. From the recents bar you can hit the X or right click it and "close" (vs Delete which deletes thefile)
In the library view right click and "remove from the library"
In these cases it is still on your hard disk but gon from Snagit
Photo of barbwolfe

barbwolfe

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks!
Photo of scottbrunton

scottbrunton

  • 1 Post
  • 3 Reply Likes
Thanks for the clue @Rick ... I didn't know that this was buried in the Context Menu (right-click).

Dear TechSmith ... it is baffling to me that this is NOT the default behavior.  I do NOT look to SnagIt to be my virtual Windows Explorer file manager.  Many (and I mean many) contributors to this feedback site have run head-long into this issue.  It's time to change this and adopt the intuitive Use Model that has users use Explorer for file management and SnagIt for image capture.
Photo of zenzai

zenzai

  • 12 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

In SnagIt 12 (and some earlier versions AFAIR) we had this nice dialog in the Editor where you could choose whether to delete the saved file or not when deleting a snag. This was very handy. Why has this been changed?


(Edited)