How to avoid duplicate behavior change in recent capture tray?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
Snagit 4.1.5 running on Mac osSierra 10.12.6.

The default filename on new capture is still a timestamp, but I have noticed an unwanted behavior change after giving the file a new name. Here's the basic flow:

  • Create new capture: <timestamp>.snapproj is in both the Recent Capture Tray and in the Snagit autosave location
  • Select File > Save, give file a name and specify directory (e.g., recent-capture-tray to Desktop)
  • I notice there are now two identical captures in the Recent Capture Tray: one with a png extension and one with a snapproj extension. 
  • There are now two identical files (with different names) in the autosave location, as well as the in the directory I specified (Desktop). So saving a file now creates triplicates



I've looked at the capture, output and advanced settings, and I see nothing related to this behavior change.

How can I avoid triplicate files cluttering up my directories?
Photo of scribbler

scribbler

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Larson

Chris Larson, Snagit Technical Product Manager

  • 557 Posts
  • 284 Reply Likes
Hello scribbler,

We discussed something very similar on another thread:
https://console.getsatisfaction.com/techsmith/conversations/snagit-4-x-for-mac-regressions

We have an option in Snagit Windows in which you can turn off autosaving:


After that, captures come into the recent tray "unsaved" and if you save them there will only be the one copy. Do you think that would address the issue you're experiencing?
Photo of scribbler

scribbler

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Unfortunately, I cannot read that thread on any of my devices. In Firefox and Chrome browsers (all on latest version), the page returns either this server error:
console.getsatisfaction.com took too long to respond.
HTTP ERROR 504
Or a continual loop telling me I successfully signed in. But the page never gets out of the loop and there is no "window" to close.




Disabling autosave may stop creating duplicates (when I save the file under the default timestamp name) or triplicates (when I assign the file a more meaningful name), but it is not a viable solution. I would have no way to restore saved captures if the application fails or if I shut it down. When I am documenting a UI workflow, I'll often take dozens of captures, deciding later which ones to keep. Having to name them (to prevent loss) adds new steps to a simple procedure that has been working fine for years.

Until this regression on Mac is resolved, it would appear my only option is to downgrade Snagit.