How to prevent Snagit from removing original file

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 months ago
When I take a screenshot SnagIt seems to be taking the screenshot file and removing it or importing into SnagIt. How can I prevent this? 

Ideally I would like to keep the original file as well as copying into the SnagIt AutoSave location.
Photo of jranaudo

jranaudo

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 711 Posts
  • 175 Reply Likes
Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion! I've passed this feedback along to the team for consideration.
Photo of SusanR

SusanR

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Maybe it's just late here, but I cannot understand jranaudo's original question, so Luke's response is even more mysterious.  Luke, could you please explain what he is asking for that is different from what Snagit is supposed to do? Many thanks.
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 704 Posts
  • 173 Reply Likes
Hi,
If I understand the original post correctly, when you use macOS's built-in screen shot command, Snagit will offer to import those into your library so you can edit them. Currently we move the screenshot from your desktop to your autosave folder. I believe he is requesting to make a copy in Snagit and leave the original screenshot on the desktop. I hope this makes sense!
Photo of SusanR

SusanR

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Yes, thank you. He hadn't specified that the fifth word in his post, "screenshot," meant using the Mac OS command. Makes sense now and a good idea, I suppose. I rarely use the OS capability, but when trying to take a shot of Snagit itself doing something, then yes, we obviously have to use the OS command.