How to recover files after press no by asking "want to save record"?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • (Edited)
Stupid and a big fault of mine.

But does anybody have a idea how to recover records from a project, which were accedently deleted?

I was too fast with clicking and not reading properly.

In all the temp folders is nothing stored as well as in the recycle bin.

I stared a recovery run with recuva. (Takes hours)

Do you think that I will find something or is that useless?

Cheers,

Marco
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of David Demyan

David Demyan

  • 83 Posts
  • 56 Reply Likes
I have done this before and sometimes was able to recover from preliminary or recent output. In other words, instead of trying to remember exactly what it looked like, I dropped the output file on a new project timeline and then started rebuilding with that as a guide. This was only helpful if my output was nearly complete, like a version before the final approval copy. And this greatly sped up the recovery because I work on so many projects that it's hard to remember exactly what effects I used and how they were configured. But sadly, I still lost hours and hours of work.

Sorry, I didn't answer your question about using a data recovery tool. I have had mixed results. It is important to do it soon if you are going to because every disk write your computer does will further corrupt the recovery effort.
(Edited)
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi David,

thank you for your answer.
Unfortinally is there no deleted file after my data recovery try...
Damn.... Autosave was activated, I don't know why it doesn't work.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 8022 Posts
  • 2775 Reply Likes
auto save works

but not the way your are seeking here

auto save is managed by a setting in edit menu/preferences/program

the set time cycle is initiated by any change [edit] to the Camtasia project that is not manually saved

edit, keep editing, do not manually save, then after the specific time cycle, a copy of the tscproj is created in the auto save folder

look in C:\Users\USER\AppData\Local\TechSmith\Camtasia Studio\19.0\Auto-Saves

[I keep this in my quick access list]

if/when you execute a manual save, any auto save file in the folder is deleted

key here is that the time cycle starts when an edit [that is unsaved] is made

but simply not saving a project file will not create an auto saved copy of the project file, and commanding a new project will delete any old auto saved file in the folder

also, the editor can often lose track of any current auto saved file if the editor encounters a glitch, like a hang/crash requiring a task manager exit; if this happens, you can often find any last auto saved tscproj in the auto save folder

you can check all this out by watching the auto save folder while playing with a simple test project