How to remove images from recent captures - Mac OS

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
I have removed stored images ~/Documents/Snatit/Autsoaved\ Captures/, I've gone into the library and in All Files selected everything and deleted them, yet there are still "recent captures" in the editor tray.

There is no preference not to save recent captures, no can I find any way to delete items from recent captures other than to delete them one at a time, which is tedious and time consuming.

I don't want old captures hanging around, once I'm finished with SnagIt I save what I want and delete everything. That way I have a clean start to a new project.

Is there any way in SnatIt to remove all recent captures in one go? If not, where do I go to ask for it to be added as a feature?
Photo of R

R

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Jason Eagleston

Jason Eagleston, Employee

  • 611 Posts
  • 83 Reply Likes
Thanks for the question, R. 

I think the best one-pass solution would be to close all of the captures in the Recents tray (click the little 'x' on each item or right-click->Close All). When the final item is closed, Snagit should automatically switch you to the Library, and if not, click View->Switch to Library from the main menubar. Once in the Library, go ahead and delete all of the things you'd like to permanently remove. Now, the next time you open Snagit, you should have a clean setup. 

Going forward you can use this approach, or if you'd like to stay on top of it a capture at a time, you can always delete directly from the Recents tray (right-click->Move to Trash). This will remove it from the tray, library, and file system. 

Hopefully this helps out, please let us know if you have any additional questions. 

Thanks!
Photo of R

R

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Jason,

thanks for the response. Yes, I can delete items in the recents tray one at a time, but that's the tedium I would like to avoid.
Photo of Jason Eagleston

Jason Eagleston, Employee

  • 611 Posts
  • 83 Reply Likes
Yeah, makes sense. To clarify, the main step to do first is close all of the items from the tray (using close-all context menu item), and then you should be able to do a mass-delete in the library.