How can I disable the SnagIt 12 Upgrade Notification Window?

  • 5
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Acknowledged
I am currently using SnagIt 11.4.3, and for the most part, I like it.

However, I see this window constantly...



I don't capture video with SnagIt.  I don't need "a new way to capture".  I don't want a redesigned editor.  (I've always wondered if a redesign is an implicit admission that the previous design wasn't very good?)

I've turned off "Enable automated update checking" under the "Update Options" tab in SnagIt's Preferences, but that doesn't seem to have any effect.  I've also disabled "Show all tips" under Notifications.

I have no plans to upgrade to SnagIt 12.  This constant nag screen becomes quite irritating, and if I cannot make it stop bothering me, I may have to find another software tool for my screenshots.


Photo of Norm Cooke

Norm Cooke

  • 11 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 5 years ago

  • 5
Photo of Pam, Camtasia QA

Pam, Camtasia QA, Software Test Specialist

  • 107 Posts
  • 18 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Norm,

I'm glad to hear Snagit 11 is working well for you. If you go to the Program Preferences window, you can disable automatic updates by unchecking the option on the Update Options tab (see below). Doing this will stop the notice from popping up. If you have any trouble getting this to work, please let us know.



I hope this helps,
Pam

Photo of Nate

Nate, Employee

  • 43 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Everyone.  If you are running into this problem, would you be able to submit a support ticket here? https://support.techsmith.com/anonymous_requests/new  We would like to work with you to see if we can identify the root cause of the issue.  Thank you!