How do I delete a ScreenChomp video?

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 9 years ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Inactive threads; archiving to prevent necroposting

Maybe you put some wrong information in your Chomp...or maybe it was one of those "seemed like a good idea at the time" things. Whatever the reason, there are a few ways to delete a ScreenChomp.
Photo of TechSmithFAQ

TechSmithFAQ, Employee

  • 37 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 9 years ago

  • 3
Photo of TechSmithFAQ

TechSmithFAQ, Employee

  • 37 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Delete a ScreenChomp before you share it



After recording, you have a chance to preview your Chomp before uploading it. If you don't like what you see, press and hold the trash can icon and your Chomp is gone forever.



Delete a ScreenChomp from Screenchomp.com



The most important thing to know about sending a Chomp video to Screenchomp.com is that the only way anyone will ever find your Chomp is if you share the link to it. There's no way for someone to browse or search uploaded Chomps whose links were never shared. And you don't need to worry about cluttering up our server; we're okay with it.

It's totally up to you whether to tweet or email or otherwise share a ScreenChomp.com link. If you don't want your Chomp to be publicly discoverable, be sure to share it privately with people you trust. That means email or a class intranet or a private Google+ circle...not Twitter or your blog.

If you come across offensive or inappropriate content on ScreenChomp.com, contact TechSmith via the link that appears at the bottom of every ScreenChomp.com content page.



Delete a ScreenChomp from Facebook



If you post your Chomp to Facebook and change your mind later, you can delete the video from Facebook.

Press the View Videos icon, locate your unwanted Chomp in the list, and touch to view it live.



If your Chomp was recently uploaded, Facebook might tell you it's still processing the video. Press the delete button and "poof!" your Chomp is gone before it ever hits your wall.



If your Chomp is already live, you will see its wall post. Press the "Delete Video" link to kill both the Chomp and the post. Buh-bye.



You can also delete your Chomp using any web browser. Login to Facebook, locate the Chomp on your wall, click its title, then click the "Delete Video" link.



To see all the Chomps you put on Facebook, check your uploaded videos list.

OK, here's something counterintuitive you should know: If you remove a wall post that has a Chomp video, you don't actually delete the video. You gotta delete the video itself if you really want it gone. On the other hand, deleting a Chomp video does delete the post that contains it. It's a little Facebook quirk, but now you know.

And one last thing...if you do want to just delete the wall post that has a Chomp, you should choose "Remove Post..." If you choose "Remove ScreenChomp..." you'll remove the app and have to approve it again when you post your next Chomp.



Delete from the device



The ScreenChomp app saves a preview of every Chomp you create—right on the device. It's like a little catalog of all your Chomps! (Don't worry, they take up hardly any space.)

If you do decide to delete a Chomp from your device, just press the View Videos icon, swipe the Chomp you want gone, and press the Delete button that appears.

Photo of David M. Converse

David M. Converse

  • 440 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
Thank you for the great tutorial!

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.