How do you clear accumulated captures from Snagit Editor's list of files on your computer?

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
After using Snagit for a long time Snagit Editor becomes cluttered with heaps of captured pics listed under folders. Now I know you can remove them permanently by selecting each one individually and deleting it BUT suppose you want to clear the desks completly, how od you do this> I've been forced to unistall and re-install Snagit to clear the clutter. This is time consuming and a waste of my time. So, ther's my problem!
Incidentally I've ben using Snagit from Way back and love its features and functionality although this particular problem bugs me!
Photo of John Campbell

John Campbell

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 8 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Tim

Tim, Snagit for Windows Software Developer

  • 89 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
If you navigate to %LOCALAPPDATA%\TechSmith\Snagit\DataStore (c:\users\username\AppData\Local\TechSmith\Snagit\DataStore on Vista and above) in Explorer, you can delete this directory to remove all the autosaved captures in Snagit. This won't delete captures that you have saved out to other places on disk, however.
Photo of Herb

Herb

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Please help me understand. Just found 650 images in snagit 11 library. Not sure what happens if I deleted them all? there is an option to only remove the file from Snagit Library and the other to delete this file to the recycle bin.  If I only delete from Snagit library are the captures still somewhere on the computer taking up space. Seems like deleting them is a better option.
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2918 Posts
  • 671 Reply Likes
Your Snagit Library might contain saved AND unsaved images. If you delete ALL the images that you can see in the Library, you might delete captures and files you want to save.

What are you trying to do?
If you want to delete all the captures you have taken, but never saved, you can follow Tim's instructions above to do that.

Kelly
User Assistance
 TechSmith
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
Another approach, if you want to work within the editor, is to click the library icon on the lower right. You can then select all the captures that have a date and time since those are the unsaved captures located in the datastore and bulk delete them via the right click menu.
Photo of Kevin

Kevin

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
There needs to be a way to automatically removed items from the "Recent captures" list (right hand side). This is separate from the "Open Captures" list (bottom). I have my Open Captures list set to clear each time I exit Snagit Editor. This works. However, the Recent captures section needs this same option. I take a lot of screenshots that contain sensitive data. Having these remain even AFTER I have cleared all Open Captures is a security issue that needs to be addresses immediately. There really should be only one place where recent screenshots are stored.

FYI I'm using Snagit 10 (10.0.0.788).
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
If you delete, as opposed to closing, then the screenshots won't be available. Any captures actually still seen under Recent Captures do exist on your machine and are therefore a security risk - as you say - because they can be accessed outside of Snagit. That is, they are available through your OS's file system.

Any security measures you feel are necessary need to be part of a comprehensive protocol for your machine and not just Snagit. The Snagit Open Captures just reflects what your file system has with the addition of tags for ease of use.
Photo of Kevin

Kevin

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
No, this needs to be handled from within Snagit. Snagit is the application creating the files and if I do NOT save them, there should be an option to automatically clear them. It should not be up to the OS (or even the user) to have to do this.
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
Then perhaps what you want is for Snagit not to automatically save any captures and automatically delete them when the Editor is closed. This can be done by disabling this option in the Editor Option.

Photo of Kevin

Kevin

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
That's exactly what I'd like to do, but I do not have an option to do that.

Photo of Pedro

Pedro

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I want to do the same thing, I have Snagit 10.0 and can't find the option.
Photo of Manny Carvalho

Manny Carvalho, Champion

  • 1175 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
I just fired up Snagit 10 and indeed that option is not there. If that option is important to you than that's a reason to update to v11.

Since you can run both versions on the same machine - not simultaneously though - give v11 a test run and see if this works as you want it.
Photo of Matt

Matt

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am having the same problem with snagit 11.  There is no way to delete the FULL cache of images, applications that you snagged, or websites you snagged.  Just like any other browsing app, there needs to be a "clear all history/cache" button. 
I have soooo many captures that snagit is horribly slow!
Photo of Ed

Ed

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
So still no answer? Also if we upgrade to a current release from 10, we'll we need to pay again?

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.