I want my old Delete editing behavior back - snippets, not whole clips!

  • 5
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Inactive threads; archiving to prevent necroposing

I can no longer hit DEL to get rid of a snippet in the timeline, which is SOOO frustrating. Hitting DEL now deletes whatever entire section of the timeline happens to be selected. Now as I'm jogging through my hour long videos' trimming out bits all over the place, I have to right-click and CUT.

Not only is it slower but it has another drawback: Let's say you want to re-use the same callout styles again & again without reformatting & repositioning every time - pretty sensible right? In version 7 I could copy the callout, then as I'm going through the timeline I could simply PASTE and it's all nicely formatted & ready to go. But now in version 8, my clipboard is always taken up by snippets of trash video that I'm forced to cut instead of having simply deleted them...

What I don't get is, WHY was this behavior changed? How often would a user really want to delete a whole clip or callout from the timeline, as opposed to trimming out the "Ums" as you call them? From a ratio standpoint it must be 10 to 1 right? It's like 3 steps backwards for productivity, and I'm begging you to release an option to go back to the old way. Pleeeeease
Photo of Chris High

Chris High

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 7 years ago

  • 5
Photo of Michelle Swadling

Michelle Swadling, Employee

  • 32 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Official Response
Today we are pleased to announce the release of Camtasia Studio 8.1 which adds this feature you might find helpful.

Stitching
If you "cut" sections of your video or audio media, stitching will now join the pieces together eliminating gaps on the timeline.
Animations will automatically span across any stitched media clips. You can also manually stitch and unstitch clips.

To Manually Stitch Clips
Right-click between two clips on the timeline and choose Stitch Media from the menu.

To Unstitch Clips
Right-click on a stitched media clip and choose Unstitch.

To Change the Default Action for Stitching:
Select Camtasia Studio > Tools > Option > Program tab > Enable auto-stitching

For more information, watch this video tutorial:
http://techsmith.com/tutorial-camtasi...

If you have Camtasia Studio 8 installed (trial or licensed version), you can update to the new version by clicking Help > Check for Updates or by downloading and installing here.
http://www.techsmith.com/download/cam...