Improving usability and efficiency of narration feature (a lot)

  • 8
  • Idea
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Under Consideration
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Inactive threads; archiving to prevent necroposing

When narrating a previously recorded screencast, if you're like me (not that great a speaker), more often than not you won't use the audio you've just recorded, i.e. you will cancel.

In the current version, you have to confirm the cancellation TWICE (Save Narration as.../Are you sure you want to delete...?). First of all, this is unnecessary. If I canceled the save at that point, I obviously didn't want it so it shouldn't ask me to confirm deleting anything. Secondly, after I managed all the cancels, the cursor will just keep where it's currently at, forcing me to re-set it to the position where I started narrating. Why? This is the LEAST LOGICAL position of the cursor after a cancelled narration recording. Thirdly, I SO WISH for a "Discard" button in addition to the "Stop" button while recording that does nothing else than stop recording, discard it and reset the cursor to where I started.

And lastly, it's cumbersome enough that you force users to save the recordings as individual files, could you at least preset/suggest the name to the last one with incrementing indexes (audio_1, audio_2 etc.)? You can make that an option or only apply it if the previous saved name had a number at the end. For people not interested in the actual filenames, an "autosave" option would be very nice, too.

Anything to reduce the endless clicking during narrations done in sections, please!
Photo of Chris Keydel

Chris Keydel

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 8 years ago

  • 8
Photo of Steven Garske

Steven Garske, Employee

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hello all,

I’m sorry you were having problems with some of the workflow for Voice Narration. We just released Camtasia Studio 8, and made some changes that you might be interested in.

We wanted to simplify the options and introduce an interface that was more flexible with the new multi-track editing. Unfortunately, the Confirm to delete dialog makes a return which is hard to appreciate until you accidentally throw away that long recording one time. I agree it can be annoying though. We did make a couple improvements (less clicks!). When you initially enter the Voice Narration tab and while you’re recording your narration, the Start/Stop button should have focus, allowing you to use [Spacebar] to also start and stop easily. Also, when you stop recording and either save or delete the result, your playhead should now return to the position you initially started recording from to allow you to easily preview your recording or start over.

Here’s a quick video I made showing a bit of the new Voice Narration tab and workflow: http://www.screencast.com/t/vfz9Ub8kYI

You can learn more about what's new in Camtasia Studio 8 here: http://www.techsmith.com/camtasia-wha...

You can try the fully functional trial for 30 days without having to uninstall your previous version of Camtasia Studio.

As always, thanks for posting, and we hope you will continue to share your feedback, ideas, and questions especially on how we can continue improving the Voice Narration workflow with the new Camtasia Studio 8 options. We’re sorry we couldn’t address all your issues at this time.

-Steven