Last Viewed Date Feature Forthcoming

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Implemented
The primary purpose for Screencast.com is to share your screen captures, including images and video, and as you are aware, it is important to know how popular a piece of media is. Screencast has kept track of the number of times your media has been viewed for a long time. However as media gets older we don't currently let you know the last time someone viewed your media.

That is about to change. Our team is working hard on updating Screencast to allow you to view the last time someone viewed your media right from within your Screencast library. Right now when you switch to details view, you can see the date you created media.




We are planning to add a new column to this view which will also show the date someone last viewed your media (including yourself.)

In addition to the updates to your analytics, we are also working to populate this date for all of the media you currently host on Screencast so you can get an idea of how recent it has been viewed.

As development continues on these features, we will post additional updates to this thread so check back here for the latest information.

We appreciate your continued support of Screencast.com and look forward to making it even more valuable for you in the future.
Photo of Paul Donahue

Paul Donahue, Technical Product Manager - Cloud Services

  • 16 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 3
Photo of professor.kam

professor.kam

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Any updates on the column? It was promised to be out there in July, and September 5th is coming (thank you, btw).
Photo of Paul Donahue

Paul Donahue, Technical Product Manager - Cloud Services

  • 16 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Hello,

The team has been hard at work creating this functionality as well as processing view information for more than 100 million of pieces of media going back nearly 10 years.

When we turn on the feature we want to make sure that the data shown is as accurate and complete as possible.

I cannot guarantee it will be turned on by Sept 5, but what I can is we will not remove anyone's data until the feature is available, folks have been notified of its availability and had time to take action to keep any content that has not been viewed in more than one year.

Content expiration only affects users who have free accounts. We will not expire content owned by pro users.
(Edited)
Photo of professor.kam

professor.kam

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you for this. And yes, I'm the user with free account, and no, I'm not eager to upgrade. Also I'd really want to know which of my files you are about to delete, as I used Jing/Screencast (it was very convenient, thank you) to record reproduction of bunch of issues in several different bugtrackers — and such stuff can stay unopened forever, until someone decides to finally look into it.
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4483 Posts
  • 1999 Reply Likes
Curious about what (if any) significance September 5 has?
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5631 Posts
  • 2923 Reply Likes
Because if you have a free account, and your content has not been viewed in a "Year" I believe.
Screencast will delete it. Never to be seen again.
Photo of Paul Donahue

Paul Donahue, Technical Product Manager - Cloud Services

  • 16 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Hello Joe - please see my reply above, specifically:

"I cannot guarantee it will be turned on by Sept 5, but what I can is we will not remove anyone's data until the feature is available, folks have been notified of its availability and had time to take action to keep any content that has not been viewed in more than one year."

We appreciate our customers greatly and feel it is only fair to give them this feature, and reasonable time to take action before we would remove any content from the service.