Make the "Apply" confirmation optional

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
Every time I apply an effect or resize an image etc I have to select the effect I want and then, when the example is applied, I have to click an Apply button to actually apply it to the object

For me this is an unlearnable behaviour.  As a user of Snagit for nearly 20 years and an early adopter of new releases I still make the rookie mistake of failing to click Apply, so when I move on to the next task, the effect is cancelled.  God knows how many times I fall for this every flaming day

Given that we can undo an effect in a heartbeat using the standard windows function, it would be a lot easier if the "Apply" step was removed or made a system option so that experienced users can move on with their workflow.
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1644 Posts
  • 1230 Reply Likes
  • Frustrated

Posted 3 months ago

  • 3
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 497 Posts
  • 357 Reply Likes
Making it an option might be OK, but I don't think I'd like to see it removed. For me there are a lot of times when I preview an effect or a resizing; I may decide to go ahead with it or not. If I do then I commit it with the Apply button, if I don't I just cancel it.  I'd actually find it detrimental to my workflow to have to remember to undo any change that I was just testing every time.

However I've no objection to having an OPTION to auto apply the setting.

Welcome back, by the way.
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1644 Posts
  • 1230 Reply Likes
I came back to register an idea Joe

The occasions on which I accidentally select the wrong tool and apply an effect I didn't want are dwarfed by those when I select the correct tool and either have to click an extra and unnecessary button or forget to do so and have to go back, reapply the effect and press the unnecessary button.

On the rare occasions I apply the incorrect effect one a simple Ctrl+Z fixes it.

But, again, if it doesn't suit your workflow you could turn the option off so I don't see why that would cause an issue
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 8039 Posts
  • 4348 Reply Likes
Heres my thoughts,I've forgotten to apply a border.I understand where your coming from.
Borders is on my toolbar, it opens the effects panel, along with the effect at its current settings.
To me, that should apply it automatically.
However, I use SnagIt on my secondary monitor. At 1929 x 1080, screen real estate limits you to 26 Tools/Effects/Share destinations/Menu Items. Then the toolbar is full.
So that's not a great option. Others use even lower resolution monitors.My 2560 x 1440 monitor can display a lot more icons. 37 to be exact, I just gave it a whirl to find out. Theres 63 options you can add to the toolbar.

If its not 1 one size fits all approach/feature.Its poorly designed. If the toolbar is to small to hold everything you need? Its less than ideal at best.And a broken feature as a result.

Being able to save a Quick Style and save it to Favorites is another approach.
The favorites menu is limited in size as well.
If you have a lot of favorites, you may find yourself scrolling through them before you know it.
That throws ease of use out the window.
Plus, if you happen to be using a tool. The favorites menu is closed.So you have to open the favorites menu first.
That requires at least 2 clicks, the same number to open the effects panel and apply the effect.

However, I would still vote to save effects as a Quick Style, as I have in the past to no avail.

In a nut shell,
I still forget to select apply when I chose border from the toolbar.It frustrates me when it happens.

Bottom line, I prefer the Quick Styles approach.
If I had to remember to turn your feature on and off, determine if it's enabled or not. Its not for me.

Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1644 Posts
  • 1230 Reply Likes
The Editor Preferences already contain a lot of settings that are fire and forget.  I'm simply requesting an extra one "Apply effects without confirmation prompt."  The default setting can be off so that no existing workflows are disrupted for existing customers, and those of us that want it on can select it. 

 There's no need to keep turning it on or off.  
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 8039 Posts
  • 4348 Reply Likes
There's no need to keep turning it on or off????
If I wanted to use your feature.

When I open the effects panel. The selected filter is automatically applied.If I didn't want that to happen,I would have to delete/undo the effect.An extra click at a minimum.

Then select my next filter. Its applied automatically, regardless of its settings, then I cant see the actual look I'm shooting for. Because the image has already been  altered and saved.Meaning I have to undo that effect.Then fiddle with settings.

So I would want to disable the feature before opening effects. Another click at the very least.

You can add a Quick effect to the Quick Effects menu. Requiring an additional click.


But you still have to open the  effects panel, applying whatever is selected first. Another undo operation/click.

Sorry, I see this as a one trick pony feature.You've either got the right filter complete with settings.Just waiting in the wings.
Or you have to disable it to use other effects.Once again, another thought to process and another click.

I'm looking for a more comprehensive approach.
I'm not really sure how you get there from here.
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1644 Posts
  • 1230 Reply Likes
Joe

I don't have your workflow and I don't want to disrupt your workflow.  But my workflow is completely different.  In my world, it's fire once and forget.

If you want to combine what I'm asking for with your workflow then I can see there might be a problem but that's a complication of the basic request isn't it?  I'm sorry if I'm being thick, but my request seems straightforward to me.  It's no different to my doing this in bold and then deciding I don't want that and doing Ctrl+z.  I don't get a confirmatory box when I add bold because it's easy to remove it again if I change my mind.  I'm just asking for the same simplicity when I add an effect

Quick Effects are pretty useless in that you can't label them and you can't tell at a glance in the QE panel what each one does because they are (mostly) indistinguishable blue blobs.  Yes you can glide over them to see what effect they have on an image, but on a large monitor with a small screenshot, the image and QE panel are not in the same field of vision, so either you can't see what's happening to the image, or you can't see what effect you are hovering on.

Bizarrely if you DO select the wrong QE you can undo it with Ctrl+Z.  All I'm asking for is that you could undo effects exactly the same way as you undo quick effects