Modify the 'Library' save / delete behavior

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 10 months ago
I used the Library to delete my 2017 'captures'. After doing the delete I had to go into my recycle bin for another purpose and found that all of the really important captures that I had 'saved as' to my documents database had been -deleted-!!? When I do a 'save as' in Snagit I want it to retain the SNAG dataset and forget about the 'saved as' dataset. Please provide an option that supports this logic. I came very close to losing my most important captures- the ones I had specifically 'saved' for the purpose of retaining them for future reference and use
Photo of John Basinger

John Basinger

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frightened by how close I came to losing valuable information

Posted 10 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 969 Posts
  • 747 Reply Likes
You want to use "Remove from Library" to remove captures from only the library. Not delete.



I found this out the hard way also and did a delete as you and original files where deleted from my computer.
 Even if you do a right-click and "Open with" Snagit of a image,  Snagit now has control to delete that original file.

Total B.S. in my book.  Snagit should only control Snagit not my original files.

Anyways... use Remove from Library to get rid of files in the Snagit library.

:)
(Edited)
Photo of John Basinger

John Basinger

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
But if I 'remove from library' doesn't it leave the .SNAG datasets in place? I suppose I can go into 'appdata' and delete them from there but it seems a little ridiculous that there isn't a way to do a 'delete' from within the application that doesn't destroy 'saved' data
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 969 Posts
  • 747 Reply Likes
If you remove from library,  Not delete (because that will also remove your original and /or saved images)

It should also remove it from DataStore
C:\Users\YourName\AppData\Local\TechSmith\SnagIt\DataStore

If that is what you are asking.

:)