Monthly Bandwidth

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
Hello! I received an email this morning about my free Screencast account - that I have reached the bandwidth limit, and that my viewers will not be able to see my videos. So far, any videos that I have already uploaded are still viewable. So I am confused. Does this mean I can upload additional videos, but those cannot be seen? or is there going to be a point where after I get so many views on a video, it will become a broken link? I guess I need help understanding what the monthly bandwidth means. I thought it just uploading would be affected. Any help is appreciated!!!
Photo of alicia.whitney

alicia.whitney

  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Glenn Hoeppner

Glenn Hoeppner, Employee

  • 1827 Posts
  • 332 Reply Likes
Bandwidth describes the bits flowing out of Screencast.com to users who have viewed your media. So if you have a 10MB video and one person watches the whole video, that would consume 10MB of bandwidth. Two views would be 20MB.

If you have reached your bandwidth limit, users will no longer be able to view your videos until you add more bandwidth (upgrade to Screencast Pro) or when your bandwidth resets monthly. When we send you the bandwidth limit email we give you a little extra bandwidth just to try and make sure you have time to purchase more bandwidth before your users get cut off.

I hope this helps,
Glenn
Photo of hadjibarbe

hadjibarbe

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
change host
(Edited)