Must Save Twice - Destination Changes

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
After recording the screen, I'm asked to save the trec source file. Immediately, I'm asked where and how to save my mp4. I guess I get the reason for needing to save two files of each recording... but what really bugs me is I browse folders to choose the first destination, then must do it all over again to save the second. Usually, I want them in the same place anyway. What am I missing? Using Windows 10 and Studio 8.
Photo of Don Sturgill

Don Sturgill

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Dave O'Rourke

Dave O'Rourke, Senior Software Engineer

  • 1423 Posts
  • 377 Reply Likes
Hi Roadturn,

To your first point about saving twice... Camtasia is designed for the record > edit > share workflow. Because of this, the recording process produces high quality TREC recordings that are ready for editing, but not ready for sharing. It sounds like your workflow skips the edit step. The share step is when the timeline is produced to a shareable MP4 file. If you're looking for a record > share workflow, Snagit may be a better fit.

To your second point about remembering the save folder. The current design remembers the recording save folder separately from the production save folder. This can be helpful if you have more than 1 recording or end up producing more than 1 time during the course of a project. But if you always do one recording per production, the save dialog will fight you.

There's definitely room for improvement in the way we do file management. I'm hopeful that we can simplify this in future releases. Thanks for the feedback.
Photo of Don Sturgill

Don Sturgill

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you, Dave. Camtasia keeps getting better... and it's already the best.