Need help registering Camtasia 3 properly

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • (Edited)
I just returned my original purchase of Camtasia 3 because I wanted to add on the maintenance. Since there is no way to do this through Techsmith, I simply asked for a refund and repurchased both the software and the maintenance together.

Now my problem is registering the existing copy on  my computer with the new key. The existing copy opens with the old key, but there is no way to change it. Short of uninstalling it and reinstalling it, is there any way to change the key in the existing copy? 
Photo of training

training

  • 118 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Paul Middlin

Paul Middlin, Employee

  • 835 Posts
  • 185 Reply Likes
You can delete this file:
/Users/Shared/TechSmith/Camtasia/Camtasia Registration Key
Then run Camtasia again and it should be ready for your new key.
Photo of training

training

  • 118 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
Thank you Paul. I did delete a different file, file:///Users/Shared/TechSmith/Camtas... Registration Key Unified License as I suspected (by the file date) that the one you stated belonged to my Camtasia 2. But choosing the one I did worked perfectly showing the new key. Thanks so much. 

It's funny how simple that was. The support team wrote back and told me that it would be far to complicated to have me fix the situation and to just use it with the old registration number. Then asked if I reinstalled it to use the new number at that time. 

This was so very simple, I just needed to know what file to pinpoint. This is NOT a complicated fix. 
Photo of Paul Middlin

Paul Middlin, Employee

  • 835 Posts
  • 185 Reply Likes
oop, right you are, that's what happens when I go from memory. The file did change with v3 as you stated.
Sorry you got a different answer from Tech Support. While they are quite knowledgeable and skilled in Camtasia, sometimes a developer's insight can help.
Photo of training

training

  • 118 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
Well, it was easy enough to spot. I always check the date when I get more than one file with a similar name, and especially if I have two versions installed.

Maybe Tech Support isn't as good at explaining things as you are. They can't know how much anyone knows about prowling around the system files.  

My last sentence was confusing. They were referring to future installations. Not asking what I'd already done. Thank you.