Option to delete unavailable recent projects from the recent projects list

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago

Please do not vote for this idea as it has such a low impact and is of such limited benefit it should not be voted on.  However, it should be very easy to implement so, in someone's spare time :P, it is an idea.

When a moved, renamed, or deleted project in "File > Recent Projects" is selected we are dutifully told the project file can not be found.

What about adding the option to allow deleting the unwanted projects?

I often create projects for testing and then immediately delete them.  To retain the longest list of available recent projects the registry entries could be deleted....  Instead, how about offering to delete the entry do so if we agree.

A simple change that would provide minimal benefit to your users as we can simply open the project file directly.  This negates the need of a Recent Projects list but TechSmith thinks it is important enough to provide.

Photo of ExpertNovice

ExpertNovice

  • 352 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 3
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
I've been requesting this for years; it still hasn't happened

I believe the list is contained in a registry record

I too think it should be easy to enable

I usually flush out all my projects as I go along, so the list is usually worthless except for maybe the last project produced
Photo of ExpertNovice

ExpertNovice

  • 352 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes

Yep.  It would be a nicety and it appears to be completely self-contained code using code already used in the routine adding a new entry and removing another.  Still, I have seen a seemingly simple change require a massive rewrite and seemingly difficult code take less than a minute to find and change.

I would not spend much time making the change unless I was already touching the code and could add it with minimal effort.

For you non-programmers even changing simple production code can "break" or introduce bugs in other areas that are seemingly unrelated.  For that reason the changes have to be documented, coded, unit tested, system tested, peer-reviewed, beta tested, implemented, and often times, fixed after roll-out.  Fix time 15 minutes plus 8 hours of additional changes.  It can easily get worse.  It definitely gets worse when original development ends, original developers leave, and new developers begin to work on a system.  Then, there are the kind-hearted, understanding users... of which I am one... :D

Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5669 Posts
  • 2938 Reply Likes
Here's how Adobe handles it.

There's a initial "Splash Screen" if you will. That you can launch New or Recent projects from. When you delete or move project files, they are automatically removed.

However, if you use the Open Project menu. Deleted recent projects are not purged from that menu. You will get the typical error message.File not found if you click it.

I created a project in After Effects and called it "test project save" I saved it to my desktop and deleted it.
Then, I re-opened After Effects.I let the Splash screen load.Then I opened the Open Recent menu and took a screen shot.Just so you could see it for yourselves.

 I know absolutely nothing about programing, but if Adobe only purges deleted project files from the splash screen.That seems to suggest it's easier said then done.

Regards,Joe

Photo of ExpertNovice

ExpertNovice

  • 352 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes
Microsoft also handles it in all their applications, regardless of whether the file is pinned or not.
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5669 Posts
  • 2938 Reply Likes
Actually, all Adobe applications don't automatically purge recently saved and deleted files. Photoshop is one such application.
However, I believe the main point is this.

Adobe didn't create a system to delete non-existent recent projects from the open recent list.

Although, they have created a separate and automated system that does exactly that.  As slick as it is, it's still incapable of interacting with the open recent menu and updating it.

Bottom line, if it were a simple task to update the Open Recent menu.Why didn't they update that functionality as well?


Regards,Joe
(Edited)
Photo of ExpertNovice

ExpertNovice

  • 352 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes

Hey Joe, wanted to test before responding.

As I understand it, you created a project, saved it, closed the app, deleted the project, opened the app and the project was still listed.  I would not want that project to be deleted either.  Even if the entry was selected and a "not found" error returned it should not be removed without express consent.

In CS8 the MRU list is saved in the registry
Path: HKCU\Software\TechSmith\Camtasia Studio\8.0\Camtasia Studio\8.0\
Key: FileSaveAsMRU

The Data looks like this.  (Format is correct.  Assume the list is limited to 3 items rather than 8.) 
C:\path\Proj3*C:\path\Proj2*C:\path\Proj1

Currently, only three events trigger an MRU update; which occurs when Camtasia is closed.
1. Saving of a new project (can be a rename or from scratch, there is no difference)
2. Opening a previous project within the MRU list
3. Opening a project not in the MRU list

#1. Assume Proj3 is saved as Proj4 and then close Camtasia.
      C:\path\Proj4*C:\path\Proj3*C:\path\Proj2
#2. Assume we reopen Proj3 and then close Camtasia.
      C:\path\Proj3*C:\path\Proj4*C:\path\Proj2
#3. Assume Proj5 is renamed Proj6, opened, and then close Camtasia.
      C:\path\Proj6*C:\path\Proj5*C:\path\Proj3

So, we know the list can be reordered, added to, and truncated.

Now assume Proj5 is selected in the MRU.  It was renamed so doesn't exist and results in:
This file cannot be found:
C:\path\Proj5.camproj
Please make sure the correct path and file name are provided.
Button: Ok

The message could become.
This file cannot be found:
C:\path\Proj5.camproj
Please make sure the correct path and file name are provided or select "Remove" to remove the project from the MRU.
Buttons: Keep, Remove

If the user clicks Remove then, after Camtasia is closed and assuming no other activity, the MRU becomes.
C:\path\Proj6*C:\path\Proj3

The only issue is "is it worth the effort".  The effort is minimal as the only new code is the selection of the project from the MRU and, maybe, stitch two fragments of the string together.  The dangerous part (updating the registry) already exists.

It would be a beneficial change so it was presented.  The benefits would be minimal so it was requested no one vote for it and is probably why it was not implemented, along with not thought of.