Overwritten file not in the trash?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
I accidently started saving over a production folder that already existed. I hit cancel as soon as I realized, at like 0.9% - so now there's no file there at all and there's no file in the trash can and nothing happens when I control+z.. Surely it doesn't make sense that camtasia would have permanently deleted that folder..?
Photo of Thomas C

Thomas C

  • 17 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of training

training

  • 119 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
Camtasia did exactly what you told it to do. Hopefully you have a backup in place and can restore your old file from there. Just rename it. 
Photo of Thomas C

Thomas C

  • 17 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I didn't tell it to permanently delete anything, standard protocol is to move something to the trashcan. Even when you right click something an hit delete, it goes to the trash can.
Photo of training

training

  • 119 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
When you told it to save using the same name, it simply saved your current content to that filename, updating the content to the new content. I'm not sure, but if Camtasia automatically puts the previous name in the naming box, and you didn't manually change that filename, that may be how this happened. Any program will save using the name in the filename box, and simply overwrite the old file, even if the content is entirely different. None of the software I know trashes before saving. At best, some will tell me there's already a file of that name and ask if I want to replace (overwrite) it. 
(Edited)
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7016 Posts
  • 2277 Reply Likes
when you say "started saving over a production folder that already existed" do you mean you started a production using the same name/destination folder of one that already existed?  then, after the new production started, you canceled?

if so, then the original production is, indeed, gone, because the production wizard deleted it as soon as the new production started; and, that particular function does not send its delete [of the original folder and its contents] to the recycle bin

this is actually standard functionality for many functions [that delete stuff] in many different apps

and, as far as I know, there is no setting in Camtasia to make it put such deletes in your recycle bin

do you still have the original project?  if so, produce it again