Please add Undelete or a Trash Can

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
Once again I've pressed Delete to remove what I thought was a selected item only to have my entire capture disappear...and there's no way to get it back. This is really frustrating after spending an inordinate amount of time to get a capture just so, only to have it vanish.
Photo of Jonathan McRobert

Jonathan McRobert

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2896 Posts
  • 652 Reply Likes
Hi Jonathan,
I'm sorry you're having trouble.

Can you please explain to me your process? If you somehow delete what is on the canvas, you have unlimited UNDOs to get it back.

If you press delete on an image in the tray, you are prompted to confirm if you want to delete.

So, please let me know what you are doing to delete an image, when you are only trying to delete a selection on the image.
Thanks for any information.
Kelly
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1422 Posts
  • 984 Reply Likes
What version are using? I am on 2019
If I select something I want to delete and hit the delete button, only it is deleted
Sam when using the selection tool although that will chomp right down to the canvas
The ONLY way I can delete a capture from the editor is by selecting it in the recent bar

So perhaps you could post your version and more details so we can understand just what is going on
Photo of Jonathan McRobert

Jonathan McRobert

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Rick...that's exactly what's happening. I accidentally pressed DELETE after selecting an image from the bar along the bottom. I can understand it deleting, but you'd think it would either ask to verify I want to permanently delete it or put it in a trash can...just in case someone does something stupid like me. :-)
Photo of Jonathan McRobert

Jonathan McRobert

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'm on 2019.
I just tried this...I clicked on an item from the library group at the bottom.
The image appeared in the editor panel.
(It is still selected in the Library Panel at the bottom).
I inadvertently pressed DELETE and it disappeared.
No option for Undo, Undelete, Oops! No! Wait!, etc.
It's just gone.



3. Press [Delete]


Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2896 Posts
  • 652 Reply Likes
Okay, thanks for this.

When I do this, this is what I see:


I get a confirmation. At some point, you may have checked the DON'T ASK ME AGAIN option.

So, to turn this back on, go to Edit menu option > Editor Preferences > Library tab, and check the PROMPT BEFORE DELETING FILES option > OK


Try this on a test image and let me know if it fixes the issue.
Thanks,Kelly
(Edited)
Photo of Jonathan McRobert

Jonathan McRobert

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Woohoo! Kelly, you're awesome! I must be going blind. :-)
Just what I needed...plus I didn't realize the items were deleted to the Recycle Bin.
So that's good to know, too. 
Thank you guys so much for your help!!
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2896 Posts
  • 652 Reply Likes
Yay!!!! So glad we could help!!
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 5746 Posts
  • 2747 Reply Likes
Okay, curiosity question here.

Admittedly, I was today years old when I realized there's actually a difference between deleting from the Recents tray and clicking the X in the upper right circle to close an image there. Looks like clicking the X in the circle leaves the media in the library while deleting removes all traces.

I was intrigued by the dialog that was mentioned and the verbiage about the Recycle Bin.

I deleted an image, then went to my recycle bin to restore it. It did the restore thing. But for the life of me it will not show in the SnagIt Libarary. I've closed and restarted SnagIt to no avail.

So is this the expected behavior?

I mean, since the dialog pops up and mentions the Recycle Bin, it sort of implies that you will be able to recover by fishing the file back out of the Recycle Bin, no?

Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of Jonathan McRobert

Jonathan McRobert

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I was playing with it, Rick. It didn't show up again in my Library until I went to the folder it was in and double-clicked on it (which opened it in the Editor). But I wonder if the Editor has a "refresh" feature that re-reads the files in the Library folder?
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2896 Posts
  • 652 Reply Likes
Hi,
If you go to the restored image, right click it and choose to open it in Snagit, it **MIGHT** restore the connection between that image and the Editor / Snagit system.

However, I suspect the Recycle function of restoring is to simply put it back in a folder. This doesn't restore the relationship between the image and Snagit, per se.
However, I am glad you found your images, and have a way to ensure you can no longer delete by accident.

Kelly