Possible bug with Simplify Tool in Snagit 2019

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 days ago
I've just started a trial of Snagit 2019 to see what the new features are like. I think there is a bug with the Simplify Tool. When activating and deactivating Auto Simplify, I'm expecting there to be 2 Undo operations that can be performed, but in reality there are 3. Here's what I've tried to do after opening a capture in the Editor:

1. With the Simplify Tool selected, toggle 'Auto Simplify' to On.
2. Toggle 'Auto Simplify' to Off and click 'Turn Off' when asked whether you want to turn it off and restore the original image.
3. Notice that there are now 3 operations that can be undone. The first time you click the 'Undo' button on the toolbar, nothing appears to happen. The second time you click the 'Undo' button it turns Simplify Objects back on. The third time you click the 'Undo' button it returns you to the unmodified image that you started with at the beginning.

Am I misunderstanding something here? What is the first Undo doing? Why are there 3 separate operations that can be undone?
Photo of Neville

Neville

  • 73 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes

Posted 6 days ago

  • 1
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5636 Posts
  • 2923 Reply Likes
Try restarting SnagIt, I can hit undo and turn off auto simplify and remove the effect all in 1 undo action.

Regards,Joe
Photo of Neville

Neville

  • 73 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
Yes, so can I, but that's not the issue I reported. Clearly, in my post, I spoke about extra Undo steps being created by toggling the 'Auto Simplify' toggle. Read my post again, try out the 3 steps carefully, and tell me if you see the same thing in that scenario.
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5636 Posts
  • 2923 Reply Likes
Okay, I see what your saying. I get the same error if I follow your steps.

It must be a bug.

But if I wanted the auto simplified objects back. I would just turn the feature back on.

I'd report as a bug, its probably the only way tech support will learn of this.
Photo of Giovanni Stefani

Giovanni Stefani

  • 17 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Here's what I think.  The first undo goes back to your step 2 (Turned-off). The second undo goes back to your step 1 (Turned-on) and the third undo goes back to prior to step 1 (turned off).  Does that make sense?  It sound's correct to me since the last task was to turn it off and that's why your not seeing any change on the first undo.

(Edited)
Photo of Neville

Neville

  • 73 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
No, it doesn't make sense. If Step 2 was to Turn Off, then how can the Undoing of that step be to also Turn Off? In the steps I outlined, step 3 isn't actually an action that was performed on the image -- I'm just pointing out to notice that the Undo log at that stage has somehow got 3 actions stored up in it. There's no action necessary to go from Step 3 to Step 2. There are actually only 2 things in total that have happened to the image: (1) Simplify has been turned on, (2) Simplify has been turned off.
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5631 Posts
  • 2923 Reply Likes
Yeah, theres a disconnect between Undo and shutting off Auto Simplify.

If I put a Fresh image on the canvas and apply Auto Simplify. I can remove the Simplify effect by just hitting hitting Undo.
It's faster than shutting it off manually.Because you have to agree to turn it off through an additional the additional step below.


I discovered this trick due to Neville's question.
Oddly enough,  When you use Undue the first time. Auto Simplify remains Turned  On and the effect is removed from the image.

If I turn on simplify again, hit undo. It turns off auto simplify and removes the effect.

So theres a series of bugs related to Undo and Simplify.