Production Wizard default output folder

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 4 years ago
Could you please fix the Production Wizard default output folder to be project-specific? It always opens to an unrelated folder. And I think most users (like me) work within a project for a long time, "producing" test renderings over and over and have to re-navigate each time. It just seems like common sense to me that the Production Wizard would default to the last saved folder as a default. Thank you for the great software!
Photo of SeattleJim

SeattleJim

  • 8 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
  • slightly frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 2
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7235 Posts
  • 2417 Reply Likes
I only do custom productions: the wizard remembers the last designated output folder
Photo of Simon

Simon

  • 7 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
doesn't for me :-( drives me NUTS having to type in the same stuf over and over and over
Photo of SeattleJim

SeattleJim

  • 8 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I'm glad it works as needed for you. Perhaps I am unique in this situation.
Photo of Ben Howard

Ben Howard

  • 12 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
I don't think your situation is at all unique. Perhaps a checkbox could be added to say "Make Default" and then both scenarios are catered for.
Photo of Michael Maardt

Michael Maardt

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
same problem here v. 8
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7235 Posts
  • 2417 Reply Likes
if you are producing using a preset and you want to have CS remember the output folder location, do a custom production using your output folder

make your next production using a preset and the last used output folder will be offered as the default value

every custom production will reset the output destination
Photo of Michael Maardt

Michael Maardt

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
kayakman: thanks, but it does not work for me. No matter, if I use preset or what. It does not work. But no big deal. I just type d:
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 7235 Posts
  • 2417 Reply Likes
it should always work; did you first execute a custom production to your desired folder location?  if the next production involves a preset production, it should point to the correct folder location?
Photo of Tracey47

Tracey47

  • 1 Post
  • 3 Reply Likes
I have had this same problem and found a fix that worked.  Apparently, when you publish to a different folder, if you leave "Show Production Results" checked, it remembers the new location and the next time you publish, it will show the most recent.  If you have that option unchecked, it doesn't remember the most recent.  So, at least the first time you publish to a different location, you need to check the option.  As long as you continue to use that folder, you can leave it unchecked as you continue to work.  (I got this from Saved folder settings in the Production Wizard and how to change them in the forum.)
Photo of Sjoerd de Vries

Sjoerd de Vries

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like

Yes, it's a weir issue. After I searched blogs I found posts that indicates that the trick is to select the "Show production results" once. Then the path is remembered. Since people complain for years about it, why isn't this fixed anyway?


In my opinion, it's also useful when you can set a default path for saving projects, a default path for publishing and set defaults for output mode.

Photo of Simon

Simon

  • 7 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
How is it simple stuff is ignored by the development team across years of comment!?

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.