redundantly re-register with my already registered license number.

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 years ago
My computer needed to be re-imaged, and I lost several installed apps, including Camtasia Studio. It seems to me your  product license registration should have a option to let you know that I am RE-installing, instead of asking me to re-register with my already registered license number.
Photo of ricksevans

ricksevans

  • 10 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Glenn Hoeppner

Glenn Hoeppner, Employee

  • 1865 Posts
  • 353 Reply Likes
Thanks for the feedback.

The good news is that we're actively working on improving the key and registration process right now.

These improvements revolve around leveraging your TechSmith Account. For example, if you purchase a TechSmith product from the TechSmith Store while you're signed in, your Snagit / Camtasia product keys are automatically placed into your TechSmith Account.

Our end-game is to have it so if you sign into your TechSmith Account in any of our products, the key will be automatically pulled in for you and you'll just need to make sure it's the key you want and continue.

This is currently the process for recent versions of Snagit and Camtasia is next on our list. We're also working on making product registration a part of this workflow.

In the meantime, if you have a TechSmith Account, you can look to see if you have any product keys already associated with your account by visiting https://myaccount.techsmith.com and then clicking on the "My Products" tab. Because this work is in-flight, the keys you recently registered probably will not show up there, but we're planning on backfilling as much of the existing data as we can.

If you have any other feedback about this process please let me know, I am literally working on parts of this system right now.

-Glenn