Renew an uploaded video without changing its URL

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
I have uploaded an MP4 video in my Screencast account which now has a URL assigned to it for sharing. I would like to be able to replace this video with a revised version, and keep the same URL so that I don't have to warn each person to whom I sent the first address that they must now use a different address to get to it. How can I do that in Screencast ?
Photo of Diane_Bergeron

Diane_Bergeron

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • worried

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Timbre4

Timbre4, Champion

  • 680 Posts
  • 272 Reply Likes

From my experience, that's not possible.

The uploading process generates a new URL each time. YouTube works much the same way on individual clips; except that YouTube PLAYLIST URLs stay the same as clips are added or versions changed. If I give someone a playlist link they can keep using that. This idea presumes your content is okay to be public.

Photo of Fred Grover

Fred Grover, Champion

  • 2444 Posts
  • 382 Reply Likes
I have been out for awhile and would have to agree with Timbre4 on this but you may want to consider contacting TechSmith Support also and asking them if it is possible or not. The link for TechSmith Support is below:

http://support.techsmith.com/

I would get in touch with them and see what they have to say. Thanks for posting and let us know what you find out and if it is possible.  With this being a user to user forum and some users may already have had some of the issues seen on here and posted a solution and occasionally TechSmith Employees jump in here with their answers too. With that being said this is why I recommend contacting TechSmith Support as they might be better equipped to help you find a solution.

Thanks again for posting and please post back what you may find out so others who might have the same question can learn too. This is what makes this a great community here.

Have a great day/night.
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2867 Posts
  • 629 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Diane,
You can upload a new video to replace an older video AND retain the same link.

This is done within Screencast.com on the page of the existing video.

Essentially, you upload the new video as an attachment, swap it for the old one, then delete the old one.
When doing this, do NOT rename the NEW video with the same name as the old video. The swap won't work with files using the same names.

Here are the complete instructions:
http://www.screencast.com/help/Default.aspx?keywords=keep+link



I hope this helps!
Kelly
User Assistance
TechSmith
Photo of Diane_Bergeron

Diane_Bergeron

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you so much for this !  This is exactly what I needed ! 

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.