Save Folder - Have to change it every time & deselect "Organize produced files into subfolders"

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
I have to make lot of little clips from one project and EVERY TIME I do "Produce Selection as" the default is some subfolder that I had used one time 8 months ago when I was first using Camtasia. So, I ALWAYS have to change this. It is super annoying. Why can't it default to either the last folder I had saved something to OR default to the folder that the current project file is in?

Also, I ALWAYS have to deselect "Organize produced files into subfolder". Why can't it remember from last time? Why do I have to keep doing this? EVERY TIME! EVERY TIME! 

Photo of Emily from NY

Emily from NY

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • angry

Posted 11 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 4506 Posts
  • 2012 Reply Likes
Hi there

There will be some here that will advise you should definitely contact support at: 

Techsmith offers free Support
https://support.techsmith.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
1-517-381-2300 or 1-800-517-3001 (U.S. & Canada Only)
8:00 AM to 7:00 PM EST Monday - Friday

And if you do and they do manage to solve the issue, it would be great if you could post back and tell us what fixed it. 

But personally, I just consider it to be a bug. Same behavior happens to me and has for a long time despite trying nearly everything I can think of (including things Support has advised me to try).

Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
try this ...

do a custom production to MP4; select your desired output folder location; un-select the subfolder option; produce

next, try doing a produce selection as, custom production; your choices above should be retained [at least they are for me]

does it work?
Photo of Emily from NY

Emily from NY

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Yes! Wow, that worked! Thanks, @kayakman. But I had trouble doing the initial custom production save because I didn't want the video controllers (I just wanted the mp4 file). I just ignored it and tried saving with the new directory (and unchecked the "organize subfolder"). So, now it's in the project folder that I want.

It seems like I have to bend over backwards to do this every time I'm in a new project. I hope, TechSmith can still make the default the "last saved" settings.
Photo of Fernando Morillas P

Fernando Morillas P

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks a lot.
Finally someone gave me the solution (y)
Photo of Cherelyn Gillson

Cherelyn Gillson

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
@kayakman you sir, are a champion. This has been driving me crazy. This solution worked. I've spent so much time trawling through the preferences which don't actually fix the issue. It would be great if it would default to last used or the project folder but this is a brilliant fix in the meantime. Thank you so much, owe you a beer :)
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
you're most welcome