sections of tracks get deleted by accidentally

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 12 months ago
Hello... and thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer me

I've been having an ongoing issue with creating my videos... I'll be editing a section of video and will have the timeline zoomed in on the section of the video I'm working with... Because I'm zoomed in I can't see outside the timeline or that previous parts of the video are still selected and highlighted.  At times I've deleted an edited section of the video... And because the previous section is highlighted, it gets deleted as well without my knowledge.  

It's happened enough times, and caused enough problems for me, I've gotten pretty paranoid and have tried to take up the habit of constantly clicking on empty section of the timeline to insure previous sections are unselected.  

I just reviewed a video I made a few weeks ago and realized big sections were missing and now I have to recreate them... It's also got me scared to go through other videos I've made for fear of seeing it's happened in other videos.  It's pretty demoralizing! 

What methods or tricks can I use to stop this?  Zooming in and out before I delete a small section of video all the time is a pain.

Once again... thanks for any advice anyone can offer me!
Photo of Keith Tyson

Keith Tyson

  • 25 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 12 months ago

  • 1
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6254 Posts
  • 1836 Reply Likes
are you using CS9 version 9.1.1.?

release notes indicate that the issue you describe may have been addressed with that [new] version
Photo of Keith Tyson

Keith Tyson

  • 25 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks for the reply!  I'm using camtasia 9.0.5.... I'll look into upgrading.  

While the problem I described in my initial post has most certainly been a legit problem for me.  I discovered the real problem was because I moved project file without moving all the assets I imported into the video.  

I had created & saved several videos in the same directory & it had gotten pretty sloppy and messy...  I wanted to try and clean things up and organize it so I could finds things easier.  I moved one file, opened and looked at it, and initially it looked ok... So I assumed (wrongly) Camtasia looked for the items using an absolute path and not a relative path. ... And then started moving my other project files (I wanted to organize things better than they were)

After I moved all my files I opened one and reviewed it and noticed I was getting a message that said "missing" where a media item had existed under the camtasia media tab.... What threw me off was camtasia found most of the media items of the video but not others for some reason. 

When I realized this was the problem.... I moved the file back to its original location (with all the video assets)... Unfortunately, the project file doesn't seem to be seeing the  original files now that it's back in place

Is there anyway to make the project file recognize the files without actually having to re-edit them back into it?  The only way of correcting this that I know of would be to delete the invalid media spots in my timeline, re-import the media item, and edit them them back in (Including re-add things like animation zooms).

Is there anyway around this?  After moving so many files I'm really not looking forward to re-do'ing all this work!

Once again... thank you for your patience and assistance  
(Edited)
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6254 Posts
  • 1836 Reply Likes
ALWAYS export the project as zip [file menu], then work off the imported zip file
Photo of linda

linda

  • 8 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
I experience the same thing in almost every editing session I do.  I now lock down all other tracks, but to hit the lock button every time I need to cut a clip is time consuming and hard on the fingers.  Is there a way to select all but one track to lock?
 
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6254 Posts
  • 1836 Reply Likes
nope

that capability has been "requested" for years; still waiting