Snagit 13.1 Can't be pinned to Task Bar - why not?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
I just upgraded to 13.1 and find to my horror that the editor can no longer be pinned to the task bar.  I use(d) that feature all the time.  Why has it been removed?  It seems like a basic need, why on earth remove it?
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1149 Posts
  • 908 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Rick Grunwald

Rick Grunwald

  • 1255 Posts
  • 863 Reply Likes
I can pin it. After you load the editor, what does right clicking the icon show?
Mine:
Photo of GeckoSEO

GeckoSEO

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I'm also not experiencing this issue. Using very latest Snagit in Windows 10
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1149 Posts
  • 908 Reply Likes
OK so THAT options works.

But I have never used that option before.  I have always used this option:



So why has it changed?

Will we ever know?

- Paul
Photo of GeckoSEO

GeckoSEO

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
The option you posted up above also work for me, same as every other application.
Photo of GeckoSEO

GeckoSEO

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
btw, based on the past 10 or 12 years experience of being a Snagit user, one thing I've learned to do when upgrading from a minor version release to a major version release, i.e 13.0.x to 13.1.x (or 12.x to 13.x), is that to ensure stability, you first need to uninstall Snagit (and select the option to retain all the files), before re-installing the new version.

Not doing so can easily lead to every one of the weird issues I am seeing posted in this forum.

It's definitely a problem that TechSmith is still struggling to overcome after all these years, but that is the only solution I have come up with to ensure smooth sailing.

hopefully they will fix it some time..
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1149 Posts
  • 908 Reply Likes
Good tip, thanks, but the chances of me remembering to do that are slim.

Since the installation of the upgrade already checks for and offers to stop the existing version to do the upgrade, it's not exactly a hop. skip and a jump away for the it to say:

'Previous version detected.  This will be uninstalled prior to the upgrade.  All your settings and custom objects will be transferred to the new version.'

... especially if, as you say, the uninstall program already offers the option to save them.