Snagit Autosave Location bug is back

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
It seems the old Snagit Autosave Location bug is back in 4.1.4. If you save an image to a new location, Snagit will not use the new location for the next screenshot and instead save the file again to the Autosave Location. I had to revert to 4.1.1 where the bug does not exist. And thank you for the revert feature. It is now my favorite Snagit feature. ;)
Photo of Mic

Mic

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 709 Posts
  • 175 Reply Likes
Hi,

I'm not sure I understand the issue. All new captures should go to the autosave directory regardless of what was done with the previous file. I installed 4.1.1 and 4.1.4 and they both appeared to behave exactly the same in the workflow you described. Is there something I missed, maybe a capture profile or a share output that was used?
Photo of pjonesCET

pjonesCET

  • 355 Posts
  • 65 Reply Likes
what he is talking about is If you want SnagIt say to save PNG formatted files to another location you could go into preference and set the save location other default location up to 4.1.3 we had that ability. Since 4.1.4 even though you set location it defaults back original location and doesn't save the change.
Photo of Mic

Mic

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Actually, I am not going to Preferences to change the Autosave Location. Snagit should automatically change the default location to the last used location.

In my view, this Autosave Location feature in the Preferences is useless and should be removed. Such a feature only makes sense in applications that store their data in a database (for instance Evernote). However, an application where you work with single files that usually have to be processes by other application a single Autosave Location makes no sense. I mean, who dumps all files in a single folder? Snagit is an app for professionals who should no better.

And if you really want to do that because you only take a screenshot once in a while, you don't need the Preferences settings because you can simply use the last used location as the new default location.

This bug is coming back again and again and it drives me nuts because it always ends in a click orgy with every new screenshot. Remove the Autosave Location feature from Preferences and we are safe!
Photo of Mic

Mic

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
If you change the folder where to save the file, the next time you save another file, the save dialog should use the new folder. This works fine in 4.1.1. However, in 4.1.4 the save dialog reverts back to the autosave location.
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 709 Posts
  • 175 Reply Likes
Thanks for the clarification, I see what you're referring to now. So sorry about this! We will try to get it fixed as soon as we can.
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 709 Posts
  • 175 Reply Likes
Hi,

This issue should be resolved in 4.1.5 which was released today.
Photo of Mic

Mic

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Works now! Thanks a lot!
Photo of pjonesCET

pjonesCET

  • 355 Posts
  • 65 Reply Likes
yes work fine for me now. Sorry my mailboxes have been messed up a few days.