SnagItEditor v2018 - How to save a capture twice (1 to edit, 1 as original)

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 12 months ago
SnagItEditor v11.x  
After capturing and after the editor had opened, there was this [Finish] button, same as with later version. 
I could click twice (or more) on this Finish button, the capture would then be saved twice with a different time-stamp.
I could edit one, but still had the original and in case of need, could take selections from the original one to be pasted in the version I was editing, etc.

With v2018 (and probably already with v12/13, I don't know)
the [Finish]  button changes from Finish into [Share],
so there is no 1-click to save a duplicate.

Yes, okay, instead of this just 1-click, there is a
1) ctrl-shift-D  (to get a duplicate)
then
2) File->Save As->add filename
(click.. click..)

Question: is there an easier way?
Photo of Mike62

Mike62

  • 502 Posts
  • 139 Reply Likes

Posted 12 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 950 Posts
  • 730 Reply Likes
I'm guessing you a using a preset when doing these captures because at least for me I don't get the "Finish" button in the editor doing a 1-click capture. I only get it when a share destination is setup for the capture.

What I have done or what you can do is try setting up a share destination to "File".
You can have more than one share destination in a preset if needed.

I set the share to file options to use either "Automatic File Name" or "Fixed File Name" and go to a "Fixed" folder for backup of my original copy screen capture when I click the "Finish" button.

That leaves me with a backup of the original screen capture tucked away in a folder and one in the editor to work on that I can then "save as" to/for whatever.


:)
(Edited)
Photo of Mike62

Mike62

  • 502 Posts
  • 139 Reply Likes
Thanks.
the 3rd para ("I set the share to file options ...")
Vainly spent some time on this, trying to figure out how. I always end up with the 'Save as' Windows
Dialog with an empty

 

Could you show how you did this?
(I mean, without getting the save as dialog).

Thanks

ps It looks a bit as a newbie question, I admit, but it seems one needs spend quite some time on trying to find workarounds for matters that were simply available in v11 and older versions.
-
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 942 Posts
  • 716 Reply Likes
Hey Mike,

You need to create and use a preset.

In your new preset--

Have "Preview in Editor" ON

In the Share field select "File"

Then click the options gear.

Choice your Image  file type, 
then select "Automatic file name"
then click the "Automatic naming settings" button to setup how your captures will be named.

**in my above post I said you could also use Fixed file name but can not as it will overwrite
your previous saves.

Lastly chose your "Fixed folder"

Click Image to Enlarge


Now use your new preset to make your capture. 
When it opens in the editor.
Click the Green finish button before doing anything else.

That will send off your capture to the folder you chose in your preset
and have the name structure you setup applied automatically.

Next, Important !! Do a "Save As" with a different name for the capture still in the editor next before doing anything else.
This is so you don't accidentally change the original capture saved in the folder.

Now do your thing with your capture and just "Save" when done.

:)
(Edited)
Photo of Mike62

Mike62

  • 502 Posts
  • 139 Reply Likes
Thanks again.

My preset is as per screenshot below.
After capture
1. Save (or Save as) will bring up the 'Save As..' Windows dialog and the file will be saved with yyyy-mm-dd_hh-mm-ss format.
like: 2017-11-19_09-38-24.png
2. Then click on 'Finish' button and the capture will indeed be saved a 2nd time in my 'own' format.
Note: as said, in v11.x I can click twice (or more) on the 'Finish' button in the editor and the file will be saved in my own format without overwriting.

this is what I mean.

-


-

btw - more or less the same goes for having a screenshot in Windows Clipboard.
then in SnagItEditor, File->New->From Clipboard
in my case there is no Finish button, but only Share and you have to enter full name in the save as box.
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 942 Posts
  • 716 Reply Likes
I don't remember all the workings of v.11,  been to long ago since I've use that version.

The finish button is now at least as I have found a one time operation.
Once you click it,  It's gone.

I was approaching this as you needing to save the original virgin capture as a backup in a folder but still have the capture in the editor that you would then save out to another location with a different name. 

I personally have always saved my original capture with the original name and then if I modify or edit that capture I save it out with a new name. That new name usually just consist of adding a letter or number to the original name.

I do this so the original is left unaltered or not overwritten because it's name is unique to it only.

Now as far as the name being the default format ie; 2017-11-19_09-38-24.png in the Save As dialog is because you are doing the Save or Save As first.

As I posted,  click the Finish button FIRST before doing anything else so the original capture is tucked away in a folder.

Once you have done that,  then when you do a "SAVE AS"  (Not "Save" because that will overwrite your original saved in the folder)   the name in the "Save As" dialog will be what you setup in your preset, not the default name.

So Finish button first
"Save As" second

:)
(Edited)