stop prompting to save project after rendering is done

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
the title is descriptive enough.

Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 961 Posts
  • 741 Reply Likes
That's normal with most software.

When you bring your recording or some media in to Camtasia you are creating a project.

Camtasia is just making sure if you want to save the project for later use instead of starting over again .

Same is true if you make edits to a project. If you just close it and do not save it all edits will be lost.

:)


Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yes, I know.
I was referring to the Project Save Changes prompt after I have saved the changes AND produced the video.
It's prompting me again when I close the app. I haven't modified anything.
(Edited)
Photo of Dubie

Dubie

  • 961 Posts
  • 741 Reply Likes
Ah, Ok I see now what you are saying.

I don't know if it is a bug because on a rare occasion that has happened to me also but only a few times so I just shrugged it off.

If it is a constant thing you may want to contact support. You would probably get it sorted out sooner than here in the forum.


Techsmith Free support

https://support.techsmith.com/hc/en-us

Phone:
    +1.517.381.2300
Toll Free:
    800.517.3001 (U.S. & Canada Only)
Hours:
    8:00 AM to 7:00 PM EST Monday through Friday

Chat:
   6:00 AM to 9:00 PM EST Monday thru Friday

:)
Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yep. It's all the time.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
what you are seeing is normal/expected behavior

I agree that it seems unnecessary to always have to save post production, but it is what it is

it would be helpful if Camtasia executed the save automatically
(Edited)
Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Why is it a normal/expected behaviour? I had saved the project already and then started producing the video.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
perhaps a bad choice of words; what I meant is that the behavior is how CS was designed; so "normal/expected" = not a bug

but like you, I'd prefer a different behavior
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5650 Posts
  • 2929 Reply Likes
So this Camtasia prompt,
It's an unnecessary prompt, when you've saved the project just before producing.And, you haven't gone back into the editor to altered anything.  There's absolutely nothing to save.

If I open a Premier Pro project. Export it. It will produce and close without a prompt to save the project.

If I open an image in SnagIt. Close the program. It will just Shut Down.
Unless I've altered the image in some fashion. If I've applied changes, it will ask me if I want to save the changes/image.

I don't know why Camtasia insists on doing this.

If you failed to save your project, that's a different story. Obviously.

I've learned to live with the prompt.

However, I'm voting to get rid of it. For those of us that save our project before exporting.
I happen to be one of those people. But I'll be surprised if it ever gets addressed.

Regards,Joe 

Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yep. Exactly my point.
Sometimes developers have to use their own product to see the real pains.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
it's been a while since I last research this issue, but as I recall, there is a "last accessed" tag [??] in the tscproj file, that is updated when the files is opened by the production process; I believe that is what is triggering the unsaved status in the editor

I could be miss-remembering, but I believe it is something like that
(Edited)
Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Possibly but I shouldn't have to create a small app just to tweak Camtasia's project files...
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
no argument here

and I just did a Beyond Compare A/B check, and it's not what I thought above
Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
ok
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 372 Posts
  • 244 Reply Likes
It's not a bug. As I mentioned when you last raised this, the project really DOES change when you render it:

It's because the .tscproj file isn't actually identical before and after the rendering; ONE line changes, even if you've made no changes yourself. Specifically, it triggers an autosave and right down near the bottom of the project file (which is actually nothing more than an XML file), the line:

 "AutoSaveFile" : "C:\\Users\\malreynolds\\AppData\\Local\\TechSmith\\Camtasia Studio\\9.0\\Auto-Saves\\TestLib16fcc548.autosave.tscproj",

will be different after the save, because it will point to the new autosave file.

Photo of Slavi Marinov

Slavi Marinov

  • 14 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yeah but it wasn't me who made the change.
Can it auto-save intelligently?
(Edited)
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5636 Posts
  • 2924 Reply Likes
Well it appears you've pinpointed the cause.

It's still ignorant as heck, if nothings changed, there's nothing to auto-save or update either.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
good catch Mal; but I think there may be something else affecting the behavior

just did some testing with auto-save set for 1 minute

auto-save does not fire unless the project is changed in some way; then an auto-save is done after the proscribed interval; but do no change project = no auto-save [watch the auto-save folder]

after an auto-save then a manual save, the project file is updated with the new path, again, IF a manual save is initiated; no manual save = file path not changed in project file

so there is something else with a production that is setting the flag, because I always save before producing, and I still get the need-to-save post production behavior

when you do a manual save, the current existing auto-file path is written to the project file, and the auto-saved tscproj file is deleted

and a production per-se makes no changes to the tscproj file
(Edited)
Photo of rg

rg

  • 104 Posts
  • 55 Reply Likes
Are we really stressing over an extra click at exit?  I would rather be asked to confirm changes than not be asked and have the program close without saving my changes (or with an unwanted change saved).

Every time you render, the output settings may be changed and you are asked to confirm changes to your project.  Granted, if you don't change the output or any shots, it would save you one mouse-click if the program did not ask for confirmation.  But as a producer I have spent 30 years taking pains to ensure that nothing is missed or overlooked -- belt plus suspenders kind of approach -- so this is something that's kind of a "safety" in my opinion.  I will always remember the graphics artist who failed to save on exiting on each of 6 massive image files for a project -- and we didn't discover this until we were at an architectural rendering place, trying to print out huge blueprint art from tiny files.

I like safety belts.  But I guess they're not for everyone.
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5630 Posts
  • 2922 Reply Likes
Who's stressing?

If you've already saved the project. It's saved. No safety belt required.

Production output settings have nothing to do with the project itself. Well, it does if you want the finished product to look good.
But this has nothing to do with the .tscproj file "Project files". Which is what Camtasia is asking you to save.


Custom production settings are .xml files and can be configured in the production wizard.That's the best way to handle custom productions.
I only have 1, I call it My favorite Preset.

Other than that, I handle them on a case by case basis.

It's not about stress, it's about the pointless gesture.

If I didn't save my project before producing.I would receive that prompt for good reason. Either before closing the project or closing Camtasia.As it should be.
I'd save my project and move on.

Regards,Joe